RSS Feed

>Recipes Galore!

Posted on

>I have failed miserably at MoFo, but I knew it would happen. I was on vacation starting the 18th of this month and that just ended today. I also had a friend in town that I haven’t seen in two years; so between her visit, my birthday, my vacation and Thanksgiving, I haven’t really done much cooking besides last Thursday for the holiday.
We had a lot too much fun drinking ridiculous amounts of wine on Thanksgiving/my birthday. So much so, that I literally took ONE food picture; of an Anise-Cinnamon-Vanilla Caramel Pear tart [veganized redbook recipe, I will share later). I’ll have to share that when I get my camera back. This year; I made a lot of my own food and brought it to my mom’s. My dressing [I’m in the south. It’s dressin’, not stuffing. Plus, I don’t eat turkey so this wasn’t stuffed in anything!] was the star. I played with chia eggs again and they worked well. I basically veganized Martha Stewart’s recipe. Good dressing is dependent on dry, but high quality, cornbread and bread, fresh herbs, and a good broth. These things are ESSENTIAL.

I figured I could share some recipes though. Dressing, Kabocha-Coconut Pie, Cranberry-Satsuma Sauce, Mushroom-Onion Gravy, and Southern Sweet Potatoes

Herb Dressing

1 recipe Kabocha cornbreadm cooled (1 veganomicon recipe, I replaced part of the liquid with 1 c kabocha squash puree. this made a neon colored cornbread. My brother wondered what kind of cornmeal I was buying. )
4 slices rosemary sourdough bread, either stale or toasted, and cubed
4 stalks celery, sliced
2 onions, chopped
4 garlic cloves, minced
4 T earth balance
2 T chia seeds mixed with 2/3 c warm water (you can use pureed squash instead if you want, it’s still great!)
2 1/2 c Imagine No chicken stock. (seriously, use this brand. even if you think it’s salty, use it and just omit the salt from the recipe. This stock has a wonderful flavor that I’m unable to mimic at home)
1 T fresh thyme
1 T fresh sage, chiffonaded
2 t fresh rosemary
1 t salt (if you use squash instead of chia eggs, add to taste, winter squashes can be sweet)
1/2 t black pepper

Preheat oven to 375 and grease a 9×13 pan.
Heat earth balance over medium heat, and saute celery, onions and garlic until onions are translucent and cooked all the way through.
While your veggie saute, crumble cornbread into a bowl, and add cubed bread. Add salt, pepper, chia egg mixture, and herbs, make sure everything is coated. Add your sauteed veggies and no chicken stock, and stir well. You want this mixture to be VERY wet. Do not be alarmed, it will cook down but dressing needs to be moist.
Bake for 45-60 minutes; depending on how brown you like the top. Enjoy.

Kabocha Coconut Pie

This was a gorgeous light orange cover.
I used a premade graham cracker crust and used a traditional recipe for Haupia, but I added 1/2 c kaboca squash puree and pumpkin pie spice to the coconut mixture while it was cooking. Below is the method for haupia; just make sure to add the kabocha squash and pumpkin pie spice.

Ingredients:
1 can coconut milk (about 1 and 1/2 c)
6 T sugar
5 T cornstarch
3/4 c water
1/2 c kabocha squash puree
2 t pumpkin pie spice
1/2 t pure vanilla extract

Combine cornstarch, sugar and water in a measuring cup and wisk until no lumps remain. Pour this mixture and the coconut milk, squash puree, pumpkin pie spice, and vanilla into a saucepan and heat over low-medium heat stirring regularly until the mixture has thickened and becomes difficult to stir; this will take about 10 minutes. Pour into pie crust and chill. You really need to let this set overnight or for at least 6 hours. It will set and be firm-it keeps it’s shape when sliced!!

Cranberry Satsuma Sauce
My grandma always made cranberry sauce with fresh cranberries, jello, green apples and oranges in the blender. I have failed at recreating hers so many times that I just came up with something totally different. If anyone has veganized this amazing cranberry sauce I speak of, DO TELL what you did for the jello part because I’ve given up!! Cool cups don’t work and agar gels break down too much in the blender. grrr.

12 oz fresh cranberries
6 small satsuma oranges-whole. By small I mean golf ball sized or smaller.
1/4 c cranberry juice (100% juice, not the sugary-cocktail crap)
1/2 c sugar
1 t cornstarch (optional but I feel like it helps the sauce thicken and set)

Add cranberries to a large sauce pan, and heat over medium. Zest two satsumas over cranberries (make sure you don’t get any pith in there!), then cut all satsumas in half and squeeze over cranberries. Satsumas are seedless so you don’t have to worry about seeds. Add cranberry juice and sugar, sprinkle in cornstarch if you’re using it. Stir and heat through until cranberries have popped and the sauce has thickened and is no longer soupy. Enjoy!

Mushroom Onion Gravy
Everyone in my family kind of sucks when it comes to turkey gravy, so every year, I get to force everyone to eat vegan gravy all over their non-vegan food. It’s kind of awesome. I kind of wing this; so these amounts are guesstimates; but you’re a good vegan cook, you know what gravy should look like!!

Ingredients:
2 T olive oil
12 oz cremini mushrooms, chopped (not just sliced, diced)
2 small or 1 medium onion, diced
2 T low sodium tamari sauce
2 T flour
1 1/2 c mushroom stock  (I like the Pacifica brand, but you can make your own if you use dried mushrooms, simply reconstitute them in water on the stove and set aside the liquid you’re left with. If you do this; you can use more exotic mushrooms in your gravy)

Heat oil in a saucepan over medium and add onions; sautee for 3 minutes, then add mushrooms and cook until onions are translucent. Add soy sauce then stir in flour until there are no lumps. Your mixture should be VERY thick and look kind of disgusting. If it’s not thick, add more flour. Heat for about a minute, then start adding stock slowly, about 1/2 c at a time, stirring well after each addition of liquid so that everything is well incorporated. Keep adding liquid and simmer until you’re ready to eat. This is an easy, cheater version of a gravy that’s in How It All Vegan. I know the recipe in there is different than this; but they are similar so if you have the book; you can use it as a reference.

Southern Sweet Potatoes
Ok; I honestly have no idea where this recipe came from. My mom and I were the only ones in my entire, GIANT family who loved sweet potatoes for years….so we started making them in interesting ways. About five years ago; she came up with a genius idea and we’ve stopped experimenting completely. Now, everyone talks about the sweet potatoes as fondly as they do the mac n cheese. The ONLY variation we make on these sweet potatoes is that sometimes we use Vegan-Cinnamon Pecan Marshmallows (ok, that only happened this year), sometimes we use Dandies (last year), and sometimes they’re marshmallow free. But i mean, there are amazing vegan marshmallows out there and we vegans don’t spend money on turkeys; so we can afford expensive, gourmet, delicious marshmallows, amirite?! I have to admit; I think that the sweet potatoes were the most expensive thing I made/bought to make this year; and that’s because I gleefully dropped $18+tax on marshmallows. Three glorious boxes of Sara and Sweets. My brother was so impressed with them that he took the few left overs and is going to try recreating them at work. [He is an executive banquet chef at a fancy schmancy country club. He gets to play with food and food chemicals all day long…lucky man…he has access to incredible ingredients that are locally sourced when possible].
I don’t have a recipe but I’ll give you loose ingredient amounts:
7 medium-largish sized sweet potatoes, baked whole then peeled and mashed with a potato masher, you want a few lumps. I would not use japanese sweet potatoes for these, they are too dry.
1/2 c earth balance (it’s a holiday dish. deal with it!)
1/2 can drained crushed pineapple
1/2 c brown sugar
cinnamon to taste
ginger to taste
1 c toasted, chopped pecans
1 c toasted coconut
1/4 c finely chopped crystallized ginger

Combine all well; pour into a greased baking dish, and top with an insane amount of vegan marshmallows. Bake at 350 until the marshmallows are browned and crunchy but still gooey underneath. NOM.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

3 responses »

  1. >Oh, this is better than a photo and Thanksgiving sounds like fun the way you did it, with or without a photoshoot. The pineapple in sweet potatoes sounds good to me; my grandmother used to do them that way, too, but without ginger. Sounds amazing!

    Reply
  2. >Yum yum yum…. Everything sounds delish. Those sweet potatoes sound amazing! I'm glad I'm not the only one that failed at mofo. :o)BTW…Happy late Birthday!

    Reply
  3. >Recipes galore is an understatement! I am most interested in that pie. Mmm.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

