RSS Feed

>Soup for the sick.

Posted on

>

Gluten-Free, Vegan Feel better soup
I’m tired of being “under the weather.” Such a drag. This soup was delicious and simple though, here’s what was in it:
1 T olive oil
4 medium sized russet potatoes, peeled and chopped
1 medium sized onion, diced
2 carrots, sliced
3 celery ribs, sliced
2 garlic cloves minced
4 cups of white kidney beans (2 cups were pureed with garlic powder and water)
1 c yellow corn
2/3 c red quinoa
4 c water
1 not-beef boullion cube
1 T cumin
1 chipotle pepper in adobo sauce+2 t adobo sauce
My kale was too far gone to throw in. You know how to make soup; start with a sautee of onion, celery, carrots and garlic; add water, bullions and potatoes…I added the bean puree and quinoa last. It was deeeeeelcious. I did not pre-cook my quinoa, mostly because it wasn’t the main ingredient in this.

Published with Blogger-droid v1.6.5
About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

3 responses »

  1. >The only good thing about being sick is soup. I will take any excuse for a hot soup and this one looks great. 🙂 I hope you feel better soon.

    Reply
  2. >mmmmmm, the soup sounds yummy! Maybe that will fix you up and make you all well. :o) Hope you feel better soon!

    Reply
  3. >soup weather has finally made it's way to my hometown – and every soup recipe I see (yours is on the top of this list) is making me want to run to my kitchen right NOW!xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

