RSS Feed

>Veganomicon Cook Book Challenge.

Posted on

>I’m a terrible procrastinator. No, seriously…it’s really bad. I have no excuse for procrastination, it’s just a bad habit that I’m trying to remove from my life.
I just now, today, managed to send my giveaway winner his books. I’m that much of a procrastinator. In my defense, I really hate the US Postal Service and the post office a lot, so I tend to avoid it like the plague. Today I had the genius idea of using the postage machine myself. I’m smart like that. Vic, I promise…you’ll get it. Our courier picks up the mail around 4PM. I bet you get the books by Saturday.

Onward. In an effort to actually be a healthier person and to reduce the amout of snacking I seem to do in lieu of actually cooking for dinner, I’m participating in a cookbook challenge that Lindsay has going on at Cooking For a Vegan Lover. The first book on the list was the beloved Veganmonicon, which I have owned since it came out. The problem I’ve had with this book is that a lot of recipes are time consuming/require a lot of ingredients/will make an epic mess in my dishwasher-free kitchen. I don’t mind the time consuming or a lot of ingredients part…but not having a dishwasher in an already tiny kitchen flat out sucks. Still, I have several favorite recipes from this book that aren’t kitchen disaster creators, but I’m going to make different things than my favorites. Or at least, I will try.

First up, is a very basic recipe that I think is actually in Vegan with a Vengance. It’s a simple recipe that I haven’t tried because..it seemed like it would pack the punch that I like my tofu to have. I got home last night at 9:30 PM and promptly turned on the ovent to bake up Italian Marinated Tofu that I had left marinating all day in the fridge. Of course, I can’t leave well enough alone, so I sliced my tofu pretty thinly, and replaced the 2 T of olive oil that were recommended with 1t of truffle oil, mostly because I’m reducing my oil intake and I felt like truffle oil would give the tofu a special flavor. My copy of Veganomicon is not something I’d loan out…the pages all have food smudges on them. I know you can’t tell from the picture below, but take my word for it.
The tofu…was still a bit bland for my taste. Maybe it’s my inner salt fiend, or the fact that I smoked for years, but I am not a fan of plain or plain-ish tofu. This had flavor, but not quite the punch I love in, for example, Appetite for Reduction’s Hoisin-Mustard Tofu (which is amaaaaaaazing). I decided this tofu would go on pizza, and that I could make an Italian sub with it for lunch today.
The sub is incredible. A french baguette (so very narrow bread), slathered with pesto and topped with mixed greens. Super simple, but seriously packed with flavor.
edit: I GOT THE PICTURE TO WORK!! I know it may not look like much, but this was damn delicious.
Why yes, that is a pile of avocado with balsamic vinegar+nooch on it. MMMMM.
 
And, not related to food, but incredibly hilarious, here is a picture of a guy I saw at a party a couple of weeks ago. He must have put on his uhmm, party suit before leaving the house.
Yep, he has on high tops with that neon yellow form fitting suit.
About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

5 responses »

  1. >That does look delicious! I just got "apatite for reduction." I'm looking forward to foods like this in my life.

    Reply
  2. >There's nothing wrong with a salad comprised entirely of avocado…nothing at all.

    Reply
  3. >That sub looks delish! Sounds like I need to speed up my request for "Apetite for Reduction"!

    Reply
  4. >I haven't tried this recipe yet but I find that tofu doesn't always marinate the best- I prefer to bake the tofu with the marinade because it absorbs more of the flavor.

    Reply
  5. >I tried the curried tofu (and baked it), and it was also pretty bland.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

