RSS Feed

>Vegan Italian ‘Cheese’ Cookies

Posted on

>Ok, I hope I didn’t lose you with the title, I really do. I know it sounds weird. Cookies are meant to be sweets. Except the Italians have a tradition that contradicts that. They make savory cookies. These are a *very* rich treat and should be reserved for occasions when you have guests.

I am not a vegan who only reads vegan blogs. I like to draw inspiration from all sources. One of my favorite blogs posted a recipe Italian Cheese Cookies a couple of yearss ago and well, I temporarily wished I ate cheese. You see, this recipe came out before Daiya existed. And I knew teese wasn’t right for it. And using all parma doesn’t work well (oh it was awful. i did that only once. ughhhhhh, gross. I never thought I could hate parma but they were just fucking weird-in color and in flavor.)

Kay’s recipe is super simple:

Ingredients:

1 cup flour
1 cup Parmesan, grated (100 gr)

1 stick salted, cold butter, diced (roughly 120 grams)

Rosemary, minced or dried (2 fresh sprigs, stem removed)

2 or 3 sun-dried tomatoes (on oil), minced finely

Dash cayenne

1/2 tsp salt

Food process everything except the sun-dried tomatoes and one sprig of rosemary. Remove from processor and place in a bowl or on the counter. Add the minced sun-dried tomatoes and knead until it’s a supple dough. Shape the dough into a log and place it on top of a piece of foil or wax paper. Wrap tightly, refrigerate for a minimum of 30 minutes. Preheat the oven to 400, slice thinly with a sharp knife, put a tiny piece of rosemary on top of each cookie, bake for 10 minutes. Serve with a cold white wine or your favorite red.

The only changes I made should be obvious; use Earth Balance in place of butter, and use cheddar/mozzarella Daiya in place of the parmesean, plus about 2 tablespoons of parma (I use a mixture for variety). I’ve found recipes that say you can use any cheese you like in these cookies. These things…are ridiculously good. And ridiculously fattening and unhealthy. No matter, they are deeelicious and you should try them. Just…don’t use all parma. I think these might be good with smoked cheddar sheese or with a little blue sheese in them…but I haven’t experimented. I laugh remembering spitting out my version of these made with all Parma….

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

One response »

  1. >I love savory cookies! These sound good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

