RSS Feed

>Vegan Coconut Curry Roasted Chickpeas

Posted on

>I love chickpeas. I really do. I think I like them more than any other legume. Ok, I *know* I like them more than any other legume. They are just so freaking versatile and delicious. Normally I like them in the form of hummus, chickpea cutlets, or in chickpea tacos. I’m also partial to eating them roasted. Yesterday, I realized I hadn’t roasted any chickpeas in months. I also remembered that I bought a really big version of this small tin of curry paste…and by really big version I mean my container is twenty ounces, not four ounces.

This is my favorite curry by far. I’m seriously happy it’s vegan. What makes me even happier is that this is one of those curries that doesn’t have OIL in it. Zero oil. It’s made from  Dried Red Chilies, Garlic, Shallot, Lemon Grass, Sugar, Salt, Kaffir Lime, Galangal, Spices. Which means this is a curry I can typically make with low fat coconut milk and not feel really guilty about it…and it won’t hurt my stomach. spicy foods + a lot of fat doesn’t work well for me. Anyways, I wanted to make curried chickpeas with this curry paste, but I knew I needed a way to thin out the paste just a little so it would coat everything. So I used 5 T curry to 3 cups of chickpeas, then I melted 1 T coconut oil and 1 T of coconut butter together.
This is SUCH a secret weapon! This gave my roasted chickpeas a super boost of flavor. I stirred the curry paste into the chickpeas, put a little salt over them, melted the coconut oil and butter and drizzled that over the top, then added 2 T coconut water. I let these marinate for about an hour, then baked them at 350 for 20 minutes, stirred them, then baked them for 20 more minutes. I do NOT recommend roasting at a higher temperature because coconut oil has a pretty low smoking point. These chickpeas aren’t super crunchy like roasted chickpeas are, but they are slightly crunchy then super creamy…and VERY flavorful. My friend Kayla and I managed to eat half of them yesterday while we were watching the Super Bowl commercials. The picture isn’t so glorious, but trust me…these were freaking amazing!!

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

2 responses »

  1. >I love chickpeas too (what vegan doesn't?) but roasted is definitely one of my favorite ways to DO IT UP. I was thinking about making some yesterday! These sound amazing, as I also happen to love, love spicy flavors… Never had coconut butter but I hear raves.

    Reply
  2. >Those chickpeas look great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

