RSS Feed

>Vegan Lower fat Blueberry Banana Muffins

Posted on

>

A blueberry mojito, which has nothing to do with this post, is one of the only vegan items on the menu at the Cheesecake Factory. I’m going to go out on a limb here and suggest that at this establishment, you’re safer drinking your calories than you are eating them. And that’s fine with me. I don’t want to pay $12 for a dry ass salad. THANKS!

I have a problem with recipes. I guess it happens to those of us who know how to cook and those of us who have figured out how to add flavor without adding lots of fat or calories.

This is probably why Veganomicon inspires me, but I don’t tend to cook a lot of recipes the way that they’re written. I’m not one of those people who went vegan and dropped a lot of weight. Quite the opposite, I have gained at least 30 pounds since going vegan. Initially I did lose weight, but I piled it back on. This is my fault completely though, I don’t blame a vegan diet, I blame myself.  Back to the cookbook. I don’t find myself cooking out of Veganomicon a lot because the recipes are more like guest food that will make you fat if you’re not careful. And there’s nothing wrong with inspiring, gorgeous, unhealthy vegan food that will win over even the most doubtful omnivore. But I cannot justify such things myself. Which is why, when I found myself wondering what to cook out of Veganomicon this weekend, I went with something that had “Lower Fat” in the title. I’m talking about the Lower Fat Banana Bread. It was a total cop out to make this. I’ve perfected banana bread and I already make it no fat added. What did I do then? I decided to make muffins out of it and to add a cup of wild blueberries to the batter. This didn’t make a dozen muffins sadly, even though mine were small. I ended up with ten muffins that were pretty darn small. I took two for breakfast today and I feel okay about eating them both since I replaced all the oil with applesauce and extra bananas. Next time I will use less sugar in this recipe and add some oats or chia seeds. I don’t mind the fat from chia seeds. The amount of sugar in this recipe is just uncalled for to me..or maybe I’ve become sensitive to sweets.

My sad little muffins:

My review of Veganomicon won’t be the best review. That’s only because I’ve been vegan for more than five years now and I’ve learned a lot. I tend to stay away from guest food cookbooks because I like to think I’ve sorted out how to impress guests without overwhelming them or without giving them something unhealthy. My cooking style is dependent on spices and chilies for flavor. I probably consume too much salt, but I’m working on it.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

3 responses »

  1. >those muffins look good! i always cut the sugar by 1/2 when using other people's recipes, or substitute agave. I love using applesauce instead of oil. What other low fat tips do you have?

    Reply
  2. >I definitely agree with your interpretation of V'con as a "guest food" cookbook. It's funny that hasn't really been pointed out before. That is probably also one of the reasons I don't cook from it more, now that I think about it. I'm working through it now for a cookbook club and noticing how often I actually dislike the recipes because I'm so used to cutting out salt and oils and such.Very interesting point. (And nice looking mojito!)

    Reply
  3. >I never really thought of Vcon as a guest cookbook. Always felt like there was a wide range of guest worthy stuff and home cooking stuff. It's funny how people interpret cookbooks differently. :)That blueberry mojito looks fabulous! As do those muffins.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

