RSS Feed

Food Rut?

Posted on

So, I have these cycles I go through when I’m really creative, then I’ll get stuck in the habit of making soup or roasted veggies and rice, or (worse) eating veggie burgers regularly for dinner. And I don’t mean veggie burgers I made…although I really do need to make a batch of Smoky Red Bean Burgers because they’re the best veggie burgers ever.
But this week, I’ve been behaving. We’ve had some changes at work, and most of us had to change our hours. While I loved working 9-6, it did make life a little crazy…I never got to see my husband (he wakes up for work at 3AM). But now I’m back on a 7-4/M-F schedule and when I walk in the house from work, I go straight to the kitchen and start cooking.
I put together a quick chili last night; and I kept it simple so that Wes would actually eat it.

This is what mine looked like after I added quinoa to my bowl. Wes realllllllllllly is not a fan of quinoa. This is a little bright…guhhhhhhh night time lighting.
Anyways, this chili consisted of:
1 large red onion, chopped, 3 cloves of minced garlic, 1 28 oz can of Muir Glen Fire Roasted Tomatoes, 2 rinsed cans of no salt added dark red kidney beans, a cup of frozen corn kernels, my special blend of spices, beer, water, and masa+water to thicken it all up. Chili is so basic for me that I don’t tend to give directions, but the same as any soup/stew, start with a good saute, toast your spices if you’re making chili, stir in beans, add tomatoes and liquid and simmer away, then add masa at the end. Easy stuff…right?

You all have until March 15th to enter the giveaway for The Happy Herbivore Cookbook! I know you want it…

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

4 responses »

  1. Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

    Reply
  2. Whoa! How did I miss that you had a new blog?! Anyway, now I know. 🙂 I’ve updated my links. And yes, the only red quinoa brand at our WF is that damn fair-trade pricey stuff. They only have the white stuff in bulk cause our WF sucks. 😦 And we still don’t have a damn Trader Joe’s. I really should move to Nashville…

    Reply
    • laceythevegan

      Yes, yes you should (move to Nashville!). I had to make my blog more…customer friendly since Wes sends people here from Whole Foods. Apparently my other name was offensive…ok I know it was 🙂

      Reply
  3. Ooh! I love the idea of masa as a thickener. I’m totally trying that next time. I’ve never had quinoa in chili, but now I really want to. I’m gonna get ahold of the red stuff.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

