RSS Feed

No Bake Vegan Breakfast Cookie

Posted on

I refuse to give up on trying to love oatmeal enough to eat it for breakfast reguarly. I will try whatever I have to in order to make this happen. I need to find a few recipes I can rely on. While my Peanut Butter Chocolate Overnight Oats were pretty tasty, I can’t lie and say the thought of eating such a thing every day excites me. Because it doesn’t.
Last night, I remembered reading a recipe for breakfast cookies that involved oatmeal, bananas, applesauce, dried fruit, sugar and nuts. I’m sure flour of some kind was involved as well. I’m trying to stay away from refined wheat, especially in baked goods. Flour+sugar+oil is not healthy. I’m sorry, it’s just not.
I recommend doing this the night before, this way your breakfast is ready and you’ve got no excuse for skipping your morning meal.
Banana Breakfast Cookie
Serves 2
1 ripe banana (it doesn’t have to be over ripe)
1 t raw sugar (optional)
1/2 t vanilla
2 T natural peanut butter
1/2 t pumpkin pie spice OR cinnamon
1 c rolled oats
1 T chocolate chips, cocoa nibs, chia seeds or dried fruit
I used a square pyrex sandwich container to make this in and then let it chill overnight in the same container.
Mash banana, sugar, pumpkin pie spice and vanilla together until smooth. Add in the peanut butter and combine well, then stir in oats and chocolate chips. Your mixture should not be super wet, it should be slightly moist (ugh, i hate that word) and have enough oats to stay together. If it’s too wet-add more oats. If it is too dry, add a tablespoon of non-dairy milk or water. Refrigerate overnight and enjoy half for breakfast. Share the other half with someone you like a lot, or be greedy like me and save it for tomorrow.
The end result isn’t the prettiest, but I can assure you, it is quite tasty. I mean…you love all the ingredients involved, right? It’s like a smoothie in cookie form, without the added liquid. MMMM.
I bet this recipe would be good if you used pumpkin instead of banana but let’s be honest, I’m not going to use my precious saved pumpkin on tester recipes; I’m saving it for Pumpkin Pasta because it’s the best way to eat pumpkin.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

4 responses »

  1. I tried hoarding pumpkin in October but they only lasted into December!

    Reply
  2. Your lunch is pretty!! And how can you not love oats? Granted, I mainly only like ’em swimming in peanut butter or coconut butter….but still.

    Also, I’m such a bad blogger! I PROMISE to get your cookbook in the mail tomorrow. I keep meaning to take it to work so I can run to the post office (to weigh for shipping) while it’s open…ugh! I will do it ASAP…..promise!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: VeganGrub.com » Blog Archive » No Bake Vegan Breakfast Cookie | Lacey Loves Food

  4. Pingback: A weekend of deliciousness | Lacey Loves Food

Leave a Reply

