RSS Feed

Summer Beer Season Has Arrived

Posted on

A note: I am known for my concoctions. I have a wonderful friend, Andrew, who throws fantastic house parties. I normally take charge of the drinks and come up with interesting, tasty, and crowd pleasing drinks. I always come up with something different, but whatever I make generally involves vodka. I think I’m going to start sharing these drink recipes with you all. It will help me experiment more with gin and whiskey. (I’m not a rum girl and I probably never will be…).
Ok, last week it seemed like summer beer season was here. Then this week it has gotten cold again. Classic Nashville, TN weather we’re having. It was in the 80’s. Today it is 40. That’s not going to stop me from thinking about my favorite summer time drink.

I was introduced to this concoction last summer. Had I known what was in it, I probably wouldn’t have tried it. Let’s be honest here, a lot of people can’t drink liquor and beer at the same time. There’s a certain order that must be followed: “Beer before liquor, never sicker; liquor before beer, never fear.” And while this holds true for most I know, I have a few friends who can drink whatever they please, when they please, with no ill consequences. I have other friends who have to choose one or the other for the night. We’re all different and I feel like an alcoholic just saying this all, but trust me, I’m not! I enjoy a nice beverage or two and lately, I stop with that. Alcohol is full of empty calories-you literally might as well be drinking Coca Cola. Margaritas are even worse than coke. I’m off track.
This is my favorite vodka most of the time (although Pinnacle Vodka is starting to grow on me, and I like Rain Organic when i find it…)

Three Olives has a LOT of flavors. When making summer Beer you want to choose a plain vodka, or if you *must* have flavored vodka, choose lemon or lime…or pink lemonade. But nothing else, you don’t want to ruin the summer beer. If you’re having a party, which is when I usually make this, you want 5 and a half cups of vodka, so buy the big bottle.
The next part of Summer Beer involves a neutral beer. I don’t care if you don’t usually drink neutral beers that were made in the USA. I don’t care if Belgain whites or Oatmeal Porter is the only kind of beer you like. Summer Beer needs a nuetral beer. You don’t want to ruin it after all. You can choose any beer you like, but I tend to go with a light beer because well, the beer isn’t the star in this drink. Nothing is actually, it’s the combination of ingredients that makes this. My brother tends to use Budweiser, Yuengling, PBR or MGD. Me? I choose PBR Light (it’s cheap) or:

It’s neutral tasting and affordable. And it’s light. If you use the above amount of vodka, you need 17-18 twelve ounce beers. I hope you’re paying attention; this is the measurements I use for parties.
The last component of summer beer is frozen limeade concentrate. You need two frozen containers. I’ve read of blasphemy and the use of pink lemonade instead. That’s not what I like to do, I think limeade works better.
Lastly, add lots of ice and invite friends over. I hope you have a three gallon container witha spout. You’re going to need it…!

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

5 responses »

  1. I am one of those people who (maybe can, but) SHOULD not mix those two. I love each on their own, but right now I’m mostly looking forward to sipping beer with lemon on my fire escape, or muddling up that Blackberry/lemon bitters drink you posted the other day! I talked to a friend who is a bartender (actually, also an Andrew on Soundcloud!) and he called it a “bramble.” Can’t wait.

    Reply
  2. Oh, I wish we got Yuengling distributed here. You know, maybe you could make your own margaritas with fresh fruit juice. From what I’ve seen, it’s those sugary (or HFCS) mixes that make them so bad.

    I would totally be interested in seeing your drink recipes.

    Reply
    • laceythevegan

      We just started being able to get Yuengling here about two years ago. I used to have friends bring it to me from Alabama. I know it’s brewed in PA, so they almost had to go through TN to get there. Where are you?

      Reply
  3. skippy! we used to make this recipe in college, only with lemonade concentrate (not pink) instead of lime, and it was called skippy. no idea why. i never actually worked up the courage to try skippy, but if you say it’s good i’m inclined to try it now…

    Reply
    • honestly; I tried it before knowing what it was or I probably wouldn’t have tried it! This stuff is dangerous though-three drinks and you’re on the floor. LOL

      Reply

Leave a Reply

