RSS Feed

A weekend of deliciousness

Posted on

This weekend, I was determined to make at least one thing out of Speed Vegan, a book I won from Bianca, over at VeganCrunk. Somehow I ended up choosing the easiest recipe to ever exist; Roasted Garlic Spread. This involved roasting a buttload of peeled garlic and smashing it. Obviously; there are other steps involved, but that’s basically it. I guiltily admit I ate half of this by itself before putting it in the fridge. It was that good….and it keeps the vampires away!
I mean…how can you not love garlic? I have never understood people who don’t.
Two cups of peeled garlic. Before:

After…look at that gorgeous color. I wish I had this with me right now.

I also made a variation of my No bake Vegan Oatmeal Breakfast Cookie I doubled the recipe and used maple syrup instead of sugar, no spices, Justin’s dark chocolate almond butter, and I topped this with a tablespoon of Artisana Coconut Butter crumbled. I’m addicted to these, but sometimes I don’t take the time to make them, so I made 4 days worth this time and I’m cutting this like bars. Such a yummy way to start the day.
Now I’ve said before; this isn’t the prettiest, but here’s a picture:

At this point, I’m becoming fond of bourbon. A friend of mine scored a rare and nearly impossible to find bottle of Papi Van Winkle Kentucky Bourbon. This is only the 12 year; but it’s still hard to find. There is also a 17 year, 20 year and 22 year version, but I’ve never seen them. Every bar that proclaims to have such a thing on the menu is sold out. This was my first taste, and Kayla was very kind for letting me try some. This wasn’t my favorite, it was quite strong and burned going down, but I get that it’s an acquired taste. I won’t be cultivating a taste for this though; I think Four Roses is my absolute favorite.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

2 responses »

  1. Yea!! All the recipes in Speed Vegan are so easy. And yet, they seem so fancy. I MUST try that garlic spread. I love garlic more than my mom. Okay, not really. I REALLY love my mom. But garlic does have a big chunk of my heart.

    Reply
  2. I love roasted garlic so much but I never keep any bulbs on hand. I need to change that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

