RSS Feed

Cleaner living, Post I of Many

Posted on

Yesterday’s post produced a lot of random feedback. It’s interesting how people feel the need to get really defensive about veganism and not blaming it for anything. Everyone’s body is not the same, and what works for you may not work for me.
That being said, I’m focusing on finding out what works for me. This week, since I do have quite a lot of cooked food at home, I’m going to phase out gluten, then sugar, then sweeteners in general. After that, grains (except those you can sprout and consume raw) will go, and if I’m still eating beans, those will be gone and I’ll be on to eating vegetables and fruits only. I’m going back and forth about keeping beans in my life, mostly because I don’t want to rely on fatty nuts for creaminess and protein. Beans are so healthy and packed with nutritional value. I digress. This morning’s breakfast was a Happy Herbivore black bean brownie, made without the sugar (but with agave) and double the cocoa powder+cacao nibs. I baked these for 40 minutes instead of 30 so they would set. I’m also having my giant cup of coffee that will soon not be part of my morning routine. I’m trying to make this easy and doable on myself to establish habits I can stick with for life.
You know what I’m lusting after on this humid, dreary day?

Pineapple Cilantro Aqua Fresca from Mas Tacos. This particular glass had a LOT of cilantro in it. A quinoa sweet potato taco sounds good too…too bad it’s a little early for all that.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

4 responses »

  1. Yup us vegans sure can be defensive…true.

    I too go back and forth about beans. I was low on iron so added a lot more in my diet but it didn’t do a whole lot for the iron. But they are high in fiber and filling, which is a plus. A high raw diet with beans would be very feasible.

    If you want a really tasty raw brownie, I have a date/hempseed/nut combo that is really good.

    Reply
  2. Hi Lacey! This is my first time here, I found your blog through your lovely friend Sarahfae, whom I absolutely adore 🙂

    I’ve seen people go high speed into crazy-town when it comes to food, but what it all comes down to is what is best for you, and you’re the only one who can make that decision.

    I happen to pack on the pounds when I’m all cooked vegan too, so I incorporate a lot of raw into my diet, and that’s when I feel best.

    Best of luck to you and hope that you find the right recipe for feeling awesome!

    Reply
  3. Looks like a nice start. 🙂 Good luck.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

