RSS Feed

Food Hoarder :/

Posted on

I have a lot to get together and post about. I made several recipes this weekend. I am working on using up the ingredients I have at home that may tempt me during my transition period of time. The only ones I’m not using up are things like sugar and white flour; which I’ve simply given away…and also oil; I’m just leaving it sitting in a cabinet. I cannot seem to part with $50 worth of olive oil; so I guess it will be used in guest food. Yeah, I buy expensive olive oil, what of it?

So, while I gather my thoughts and eat a tasty LunaBar that I found in my cabinets, I’ll point in you in the direction of this Rhubarb Strawberry Smoothie that I want in my belly RIGHT NOW-minus the sweetners of course. I’ll be making this soon, with some of the protein powder I have at home.

I’m seriously considering posting a list of ingredients that I need to remove from my house and offering them up to any Nashville vegans or vegetarians that want them. The amount of food products I have in my kitchen is almost embarrassing. I love to cook, but going through my kitchen has opened up my eyes to the problem I have: compulsive food shopping. If it’s vegan, interesting and available to me-I buy it. Even if I have absolutely no plans for it. I. Just. Can’t. Help. It!

I have so many different starches: bean thread noodes, rice noodles, green tea soba, buckweat soba, ww spinach pasta, quinoa spaghetti, brown rice, brown basmati rice, quinoa, sushi rice, two sizes of rice paper wrappers, polenta, millet…sigh. I also have seaweed galore, sweetners out the wazoo and five kinds of flours-not to mention almost every nut known to man. I have what my husband calls a nut butter problem too. This is embarrassing: Maple Almond, Chocolate Almond, three varieties of no sugar added peanut butter, raw almond butter, tahini, cashew butter, coconut butter and cacao bliss. Of course my collection has built over time, and I get tired of foods and leave them to sit on the shelf. I’m donating all my oils besides olive to my mom. She stands to gain(if she desires): toasted sesame oil, toasted sesame chili oil, safflower oil, canola oil, peanut oil and walnut oil. I’m keeping the coconut oil (and olive, as previously mentioned).

I found no less than 30 various protein bars, all of which are being brought to work. I also realized my husband has a cereal addiction-we have seven varieties. WTF? I guess I forget I have food? I don’t know how that happens when my kitchen isn’t that big but apparently it does. I’m keeping canned goods (every variety of bean, veggies, tomatoes, soup) and brown basmati rice/quinoa at home though. You never know when you’ll need an emergency food supply.

I’ve decided now, since I’ve omitted gluten(it was easier than sugar!), seriously reduced oil (almost totally gone), that sugar is next. And I might be a grumpy bitch, so I hope my friends are understanding. But I’ll be laying low while I go through sugar dextox. It’s just for the best.

As I’m sure a lot of you have noticed, I drink. I go out with ladies at least twice a week for cocktails. This is not good for my overall health, my clothes fitting, my motivation, or my wallet. Alcohol in excess-especially regularly-isn’t good for anyone. I had only a half glass of red wine this past weekend-nothing else. I just wasn’t feeling it. (Over the course of last week, I did have two cocktails in addition to this weekend’s partial glass of wine). And that’s GREAT. Alcohol is something I am working on either removing from my life, or decreasing until it’s not a regular part of the calories I consume. I’m going to stick with drinking only red wines if I drink at all. Speaking of, that means I need to attend a house party that someone is having, so that I can make the drinks. See, I have nearly a gallon of vodka at home and a fifth of Kaluha. I’ve had the vodka for a long time, clearly I’m not going to drink it. I think the fact that my husband doesn’t drink is the reason I don’t drink at home.
TTFN? ❤

It has been one year since the Nashville Flood of 2010. The flood caused over a billion dollars worth of damage. I’ve never been more proud of my city and it’s residents than I was after the flood. Everyone just reached out to help everyone. Thinking about it now makes me cry.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

6 responses »

  1. I remember that flood, and the tornadoes back in the late 90s. It’s nice to see your city pulling together – but sad that it happens as a result of a trying time.

    It’s tough to cut out social drinking. I hear you on how it just makes things more difficult (for me, it’s tough working out after happy hour). Good luck!

    Reply
  2. Hang in there, dude! Please don’t be too embarrassed about the food hoarding.. I completely do that too. It takes a lot of courage to admit it but I’m pretty sure you are not the only one. For me it has a lot to do with OCD but I think being a food blogger has also exacerbated the problem. I sort of get lost thinking about which came first, you know? So take a break if you need to. A lot my food shopping addiction also seems to stem from boredom and curiosity (also where my addictions to drugs and alcohol started, interestingly enough): we HAVE TO take an hour break from work, and I just find myself wandering the grocery store to pass time…and of course, picking things up here and there.
    It’s hard. My boyfriend tells me to get a hobby to take my mind off of it and unfortunately my hobby is cooking and baking! We understand. I wish you all the luck, really, and it’s a great idea to think of donating yr food. I’m sure some food pantries would take them.
    As to the alcohol, I cut back on my consumption a lot too and it does totally wreck yr social life but maybe you’ll be able to chill with some more “you time” and work on a NEW hobby or something. And when you do see yr friends, it’ll be that much nicer – (plus, the added benefit of drinking less is that it lowers yr tolerance and then you can spend less! Bad reasoning? Oh well.)
    Anyway, this is a long comment. I commend yr efforts, in all sincerity. I should take inspiration. Good luck.

    Reply
    • It’s kind of insane the amount of food that’s piled up; especially since I seem to often lack the motivation to even cook! I’m convinced that being a foodie and a food blogger who loves reading OTHER food blogs definitely contributed to this habit. When I think about how much money I spend on food I cringe realizing I could spend that money on a nice hair cut, or having my eye brows done regularly, or even on nice clothes for myself!
      I’ve been very lucky to be surrounded by friends who seem to have seriously slowed their drinking habits. I think the restrictions I’m putting on myself right now are due to me knowing myself, and knowing I have a hard time passing up a good time…which often involves drinking.
      Thanks for all the kinds words ❤

      Reply
  3. I hoard, too. My poor roommate has no room. I have everything but one shelf in the fridge full for just me.

    Reply
  4. Sounds like you need a smaller kitchen! 🙂 I have a tiny kitchen with very little pantry room, so I don’t have the luxury of hoarding. My mom, however…

    You can still have fun with the ladies, but do switch to red wine exclusively. You can justify it because it has antioxidants and it also doesn’t convert to sugar in your body as quickly as liquors. Finding vegan red wine out can be a challenge, but then you have an excuse for just having water or a club soda with lime. (I employ this technique so I don’t seem like a cheap-ass, just a militant–ha!)

    And really, I think as long as you get rid of the white stuff (sushi rice, not the brown rice), you’ll be well on your way. And rice noodles might get you through the transition period. And I’d hang on to those oils. A little can go a long way and I think good fats are better and more satisfying in the long run than bad carbs.

    Sugar is HARD to give up, but after a few days and certainly after about 2 weeks, you’ll feel amazing and wonder why you ever ate the stuff. But, God, when someone gives you something, it is so easy to fall off the wagon. It’s addictive, no doubt about it.

    Reply
    • It’s funny; our kitchen is seriously tiny. My husband bought this huge 6 foot tall shelf for all my food since the cabinets couldn’t handle it. I think this is called enabling…haha. I’m taking things just one day at a time so I don’t get overwhelmed. It’s easy to get overwhelmed and give up and I don’t want to do that. I’m looking for lifestyle changes that I can *really* live with, without feeling like I’m sacrificing. I think once I start thriving on my 80% raw diet, that will make it even easier to make good choices. When you feel good, you want to keep feeling good and you don’t think twice about making healthy choices.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

