RSS Feed

My idea of deliciousness

Posted on

Kale. The me from ten years ago doesn’t know the me of the last three years. Ten years ago I didn’t know what kale was by name, but if you showed it to me, I’d have told you it was decorative roughage that comes on plates and goes in cold cases in Whole FoodsWild Oats.
But I mean, it’s so sexy. AND SOME OF IT LOOKS PURPLE!!

I like to toast things. Fattening things…that are good for me.
This is my favorite coconut.

And these are my favorite nuts . Cashews are consumed only when pulverized and sunflower seeds aren’t my favorite. I have a 16 inch cast iron skillet.

Sometimes I make low-fat treats too. Like Happy Herbivore Black Bean brownies.
I like to leave out the sugar and double the cocoa powder.

I like to freeze all my vegetable odds and ends until a gallon sized zip lock bag is full. Then I make my own stock. This one has celery, onions, garlic, carrots, king oyster mushrooms, cremini mushrooms, salt and nutritional yeast. What, you don’t dump a pile of nooch in your stock? Why not?

I like to do delicious things to quinoa to get rid of that earthy taste that my husband doesn’t like. Rinsing and toasting it before cooking it helps a lot, but I still doctor it up.

I use not-beef broth, paprika, lime juice, cumin, granulated garlic and a teensy bit of low sodium tamari. It’s a mexican fiesta in your mouth. If you like a kick, leave out the tamari and add some chipotle chili powder. But only if your taste buds aren’t wimps-mine aren’t!
And then I like to add more delicious things to quinoa. Like avocado and hot sauce, who are great lovers like peanut butter and chocolate.

What do you think is delicious?

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

4 responses »

  1. You really don’t put any sugar in the black bean brownies? What do they taste like?
    I always mean to make my own stock but never do. Sounds awesome. I would totally add nooch to mine too!

    Reply
  2. Nooch is magic. I wish I’d found it sooner than just a few years ago.

    Reply
  3. This page appears to recieve a good ammount of visitors. How do you get traffic to it? It offers a nice individual spin on things. I guess having something useful or substantial to post about is the most important factor.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

