RSS Feed

Addicted To Veggies…is awesome!

Posted on

Please tell me you’re all familiar with Sarahfae.


Sarahfae is a seriously inspirational girl. Not only does she love old movies, trains, cute shoes and Buster Keaton, but she makes AMAZING raw food that doesn’t require special equipment. There are very few recipes of Sarahfae’s that require a dehydrator-much less a vitamix. I mean, who can afford a Vitamix anyways, right? (That’s my way of being grumpy that I can’t afford one, but seriously-you likely don’t need one!) You can make Sarahfae’s recipes with a blender, a food processor, an oven with a low setting, or even just your trusty knife and cutting board. Ok, so you do need a food processor. It doesn’t have to be top of the line, but if you’re trying to decide if you should buy a food processor or a blender and you don’t want to spend the money on a high powered blender, get a food processor. You can still make smoothies in a food processor, but it’s unlikely that you can make nut cheeze in a blender.

First of all, there’s this caraway cottage cheeze that’s more savory than you probably remember cottage cheese being, but it’s also more tasty than any nut cheeze I’ve ever made. It is literally my favorite thing to eat. I always make a double batch of this. The girl is a genius. I mean, tell me you’ve ever made raw nut cheeze from macadamia nuts and zucchini. I bet you haven’t. But you *REALLY* should. If caraway isn’t your thing-leave it out.
Sweet and Spicy Stuff Tomatoes are My favorite-just click the picture to go to the recipe!
Perhaps your diet isn’t as raw as you’d like because there are certain condiments you cannot fathom removing from your life.
Enter, Addicted To Veggies Sour Cream..yes…raw sour cream.

Raw vegan deviled eggs? I bet you never thought you’d see the day!

Now this might sound weird, but one of the reasons I love Sarahfae’s blog so much is that she’s not someone who constantly posts dessert recipes. She posts REAL food, food you can eat daily without worrying about a sugar crash, or if you’re eating enough greens. Sure, she has great desserts, like Raw Ice Cream Sandwiches:

I rely on this blog quite a bit throughout the early spring-summer and early fall months. Eating 80% or higher raw through the hotter months makes me feel better. It’s almost like the heat doesn’t get to me quite as badly.
Another thing I love about Sarahfae’s blog her her honesty. She’s not perfect and she doesn’t pretend to be. For example; she still enjoys brewed tea. The important thing about making a life style change is not restricting yourself when it comes to things you love that don’t negatively impact your life. And I think a cup of delicious tea is just fine! I mean the girl created Leek Cauliflower Broccoli Risotto. The picture links you to several leek recipes:

Check out addicted to veggies and add a little raw cuisine to your life-you won’t be sorry you did! Sarahfae uses tags on her posts; so if you’re interested in a certain type of dish or a certain ingredient-you can click the link to see a variety of recipes.
Check her out. Tell her how awesome she is.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

One response »

  1. She is awesome! And her photos are beautiful. The recipes inspire me a lot.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

