RSS Feed

How to blend a green drink…

Posted on

image

The drink above is 2 c spinach, 1/2 c blueberries, 2 T flax meal, one frozen banana, and about 3/4 c vanilla almond milk.

It took me a couple of years to figure out the best way to blend a green drink so that my greens would be totally pulverized and so I wouldn’t have random chunks of large fruit in my smoothies. It also took me quite some time to figure out how to make a green smoothie that didn’t taste, well, green. It might seem simple to you guys, but it wasn’t for me, so I figured it might not be easy for anyone else out there who doesn’t own a BlendTec or a Vitamix.

There are two secret fruity weapons for making a green drink, and in my opinion, if you don’t want your green smoothie to taste green, you need one of the two. The two fruits I’m speaking of are bananas and mangoes. These two fruits are very strongly flavored and easily overpower spinach, swiss chard and kale in smoothies. In my experience, collards and turnips don’t belong in green drinks unless you just like the taste of them.

To make sure your green drink is well blended, you need to load your blender in this order: spinach first, flax meal (or chia/hemp seeds), frozen banana, blueberries, almond milk. Putting your greens on the bottom means they get blended first because the heavier fruits on top are pushing them down into the blade; the blender sucks in the frozen fruits once your greens are pulverized, producing a very green, yet very sweet smoothie. You can enjoy your greens without tasting them first thing in the morning. Plus, vegetables for breakfast is a fantastic way to make sure you’re eating enough of them!

Happy Monday!

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

8 responses »

  1. That’s good advice! The spinach is so important. I add carrots too and they really vanish. I have had problems putting the greens in first, however. Sometimes an air gap forms around them and I have to stop and stir it all up. I’ve put the greens in the middle and chop them up too. Also found cabbage works well and you can’t taste it.

    Reply
  2. I love the irony of a green smoothie in a Coca Cola glass.

    Reply
  3. haha i will have to try the mango since my first green drank was a total fail. and i would rather cut my fingers off than eat bananas!

    Reply
    • I’m weird about bananas too, but for some reason in smoothies they are ok. I hate them in baked goods, even though i’ve tried to love them.
      Did you put spirulina in your green drink? It is really strong in smoothies :/

      Reply
  4. I have a friend who puts kale in her smoothies and she adds kiwi. I’m just getting started on smoothies, and I’m having issues with them texturally. I’m not fond of “thick milk” and that’s essentially what they are to me. I don’t even like milk shakes when they get to this stage. Though the ones I have are tasty, they’re just too thick. But getting greens is real important to me, so I’m trying to find ways of sneaking them in.

    Reply
    • Ahhh; i could see it being hard to drink green smoothies when you don’t like ‘thick’ things. Have you tried the naked or odwalla green juices? Those don’t seem to be as thick, so you could probably use the ingredients they use in their fresh form instead of in the frozen, super thick form. I’ve started using coconut water (as thin as water) in smoothies instead of milk replacements and they seem thinner and easier to drink.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

