RSS Feed

Working out my morning smoothie…

Posted on

I love it when things come in glass jars because it means I have a free storage container that isn’t made of plastic. Glass containers almost always end up costing more, but considering the use you get out of them, the product is generally worth buying. I love that coconut oil, nut butters and brown rice syrup all come in glass.
The last few weeks, I haven’t been drinking a morning smoothie. Part of the reason for this is that I’ve been traveling a lot, but another reason is that I seem to have lost every single 15oz+ glass jar AND drink containers that I had in my kitchen. I have no idea how this happened. A couple of weeks ago, I bought a $7 (OUCH) jar of organic brown rice syrup to make the brown rice treats in The Kind Diet. For the record, those things are delicious, brown rice syrup + peanut butter results in caramel. So, after I made my treats on Monday, I had a glass jar for smoothies again. :swoon:
image
I’m trying to figure out the best smoothie to make that will be packed with nutrients AND keep me full. In the past, I’ve always done greens, banana, blueberries, almond milk and sometimes 1/2 a serving of protein powder…because protein powder is either gritty or gross in my experience. And I’ve tried a lot of them. This morning I mixed it up a bit.

Morning Smoothie:
2 T flax meal= 60 cal/4.5Gfat/4G Fiber/3G protein
2 C raw spinach: 14 cal/0 Fat/2 G Fiber/1 G protein
1 banana 105 calories/0 Fat/3 G Fiber/1 G protein
¼ c strawberries 12 calories/0 Fat/0 Fiber/0 Protein
¼ c blueberries 21 calories/0 fat/1 g fiber/0 protein
1 T raw honey 43 calories/0 fat/0 fiber/0 protein
1 c unswt vanilla almond milk 40 calories/3 g fat/1 g fiber/2 g protein
Totals: 295 calories, 7.5g fat, 11g FIBER, 7 g protein

I take honey for my allergies typically, but since I was using unsweetened almond milk; I threw it into my smoothie instead. So when I look at the final count on this I notice a few things…the calorie count is lower than I thought, it doesn’t have enough protein and the fat count is lower than I thought. I’m not sure how to fix the protein issue since I really, really don’t like how gritty hemp protein makes things, I don’t like how rice protein makes things taste-grossly sweet, and I get enough soy protein without dumping it in my smoothie. Pea protein sounds so unappealing that I’m not willing to spend money on it. Maybe I should use hemp milk instead. What goes in your morning smoothie? What Can I do to make my smoothie more nutritionally superior?

Ok, so yes, my smoothie was bigger than the jar, I drank about 6 ounces of it at home before packing up the rest. And looking at my nutritional stats makes me wonder how in the hell smoothie King packs soooooooooooo many calories into their smoothies!?

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

4 responses »

  1. OMG! I’m such a glass jar hoarder. I cannot throw them away (or recycle them), but I really have too many….

    Reply
  2. Some people put chia in their smoothies for both nutrition and to make it thicker – I haven’t tried it yet, only because I’m half asleep in the mornings and keep forgetting. I used to add nut butters, which add protein and thickening. Also, dates will up your fiber and sweeten the smoothie without having to add honey.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

