RSS Feed

It’s amazing what $20 can buy!

Posted on

Money is tight, so I don’t have much of a grocery budget. I gave myself a $30 limit for food/alcohol for the next two weeks. Luckily, I’m a food hoarder and have beans, grains, pastas, quinoa, nuts, frozen fruits/veggies, oatmeal, flour, sugar, cornmeal, chickpea flour, nooch, tofu, tempeh, cabbage, corn on the cob, onions, etc on hand. WHEW.
image
This is what I bought today: Cilantro (33 cents, omg), jalepeno, green onions, chinese eggplant, mung bean sprouts, peeled garlic, red potatoes, cucumber, portobellos, zucchinni, squash, basil, spinachX2, tomatoes, tomato sauce, tomato paste, coconut milk, flour and corn tortillas, and rotel.
image
I went to a combination of K&S World Market and Kroger. I managed to spend just under $20. Jalepeno-cilantro pesto and garlic spread here I come. Raw zucchini pasta+sundried tomato pesto, hello, I’m going to eat you. Roasted eggplant, tomato, squash napoleon, I see you in my future-with some basil tofu ricotta. Tempeh tacos with cilantro cream and cabbage. roasted corn on the cob. green tea soba noodles with curried veggies. Squash/coconut milk muffins. coconut milk ice cream. I have plans, yep. Big plans. I’m ballin’ on a budget. Thank god I have adult beverages on hand for the holiday weekend.
Have a wonderful weekend ❤

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

5 responses »

  1. Ooh, yeah, this is a rough weekend to have on a budget if you haven’t pre-bought! I’m trying to keep track of all my spending this month at least and am off to a bad start considering I had to make a dish to serve about 20+ people as a side tomorrow! Good luck, I’d like to see how the pantry serves you here.

    Reply
  2. Happy Holiday my sweet!
    Let me know if you hit a wall with any recipe creativity – I’d be more than happy to lend a creative idea or two. 😉

    xo

    Reply
  3. Cilantro (33 cents, omg) <- I'd join that group! And I thought I was happy when I found 59c bunches!

    I have had a food budget for a while. Randoms( little juice drinks and snacks bought on the go), Eat out, and groceries. Doesn't matter which column I spend in, but is has to be $400 or under for two people. Do you have a price limit?

    Reply
    • We definitely have a budget of $250 or less per month for both of us. We might spend $50 total on eating out on top of that-if we have the funds. My husband hasn’t had full time work in months, so until that changes, the food budget is super low.

      Reply
  4. My boy has a full time salary job, and I have savings, so it works out. Most of the time, our actual groceries is in the 200-250 range; putting us even with you and your hubby.The eating out and randoms would be the other 150-200. If our budget became tighter, we’d definitely drop the randoms and at least half the eating out. As it stands, this roving gourmand needs a food night out now and again to keep her inspiration flowing. (I actually steal recipes from restaurants; my tongue spies out the flavors and tries repeating at home.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

