RSS Feed

Breakfast of Deliciousness

Posted on

In the last six months; I’ve gotten REALLY good at making sure I eat breakfast. And that I eat it at least four hours before lunch! I used to be one of those people who ate my “breakfast” at 10:30. Which is fine, if it’s the weekend and my day is unstructured…but when I’m at work, and that’s 5 days a week, that doesn’t work. My lunch is scheduled for 12:30. I don’t exactly like eating lunch two hours after I finally managed to eat breakfast. This would ruin my eating habits EVERY SINGLE DAY. It meant I usually had a late breakfast, skipped lunch, and then I’d wait too late to eat dinner and end up snacking late at night. Which was probably why I couldn’t eat breakfast early in the morning! Since I’ve got this morning routine down, I now want to progress to exercising before I shower in the morning. I’ve already started setting an alarm for 35 minutes earlier than usual to get myself used to waking up even earlier. It’s working…ok. I need to adjust.
I made GIGANTIC waffles this weekend. The recipe said it would make 6-8 waffles, but my waffle maker takes over a cup of batter per waffle, so I ended up with three. To tell the truth; Wes and I each ate one first thing, then I saved the third, and I’ve been eating it in quarters. Today I have my last quarter. SAD 😦
I’ve been using the quarters to make myself lower sugar strawberry shortcake. Waffles don’t have a lot of sugar in them, and I made mine with whole wheat and flax, so I don’t feel like I’m being unhealthy when I have this “cake.”

A quart of strawberries (um, I’ve eaten three quarts in three days, I’m really going to miss summer), a quarter of a waffle, and raw cinnamon-ginger almond butter. I made the almond butter at home. I’ve been experimenting with fun nut butter flavors.

The waffle is IN the nut butter, where it belongs.

After work yesterday, I went to my brother’s house to visit with my nieces and nephews. My brother is a chef-he went to Le Cordon Bleu, so he’s truly a classically trained chef-and he decided to try gardening again. The past couple of years, he hasn’t had much success, but this year, he really put a lot of effort into his garden and the soil in his back yard has mostly been replaced with the years of attempts…so he’s having quite a bit of luck! He is doing an organic garden, and he has heirloom corn, lots of different heirloom tomatoes and heirloom melons, peas, zucchini, squash (squash blossoms GALORE), and some greens. This pic isn’t the best, but I had to show y’all how gorgeous his corn and squash looks!

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

3 responses »

  1. God, I love breakfast! I wake up starving every morning…but I do stop eating anything by 9 p.m. I also just really love to eat as often as possible, so my “starving” might be my food addict piggie self saying, “Guess what time it is? It’s time to eat again! Hurray! Let’s stuff our faces!” I had cereal and Smart Bacon this morning, but I would have rather eaten those waffles.

    Reply
  2. Ugh…by the way, this is Bianca from Vegan Crunk. I’m on a different computer at work and it won’t let me put in my current info….it’s using my old PPK name, tofuwitch. Sorry!

    Reply
  3. I’m a big fan of breakfast too, and yours looks so good. We have a waffle maker but we never use it! I do think the selling point here is the strawberries, though. Super.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

