RSS Feed

Summer time means living’s easy…

Posted on

I’m on a quest to find the best breakfast that takes the least amount of time for the most part. On the weekends, I have a little more time available, and that means I don’t *have* to microwave breakfast cereal at work. It means I can make tempeh bacon and tofu scramble with potatoes, onions and collard greens. Which I actually did this weekend. My husband even approved of the greens in the scramble. Of course, my hungry, not quite awake self did not photograph it in all it’s glory. The day I made scramble, I also made oatmeal. I’m still finding ways to get in my tablespoon of honey for allergies and adding it to food seems to make it seem less medicinal to me. The flavor of honey has grown on me, but not enough to make me want to take a full tablespoon plain.
image
Above is my best combination of breakfast cereal so far. 2 c water, 1/2 c coconut milk, 1 c mixed grain cereal (i ate half, saved half), 1 T honey, a dash of salt and 1 T + 1 t nut butter. I ended up using cinnamon ginger almond butter instead of the peanut butter pictured above. I never though I’d be addicted to anything with cinnamon in it. To be quite honest, it used to make me feel odd after I ate cinnamon, but when I combine it with something gingery, I seem to adore it.

Which is probably why I decided to make Gingerbread waffles at 7 PM last night. Four cups of batter, a waffle maker, ginger, cinnamon and the dreaded molasses.

image

Until about a year or so ago, I thought I hated gingerbread (in any form). I couldn’t figure out why though, because I absolutely adore ginger. I realized though, that it’s not gingerbread I hate as much as I just dislike how strong the molasses flavor is in all things gingerbread. I want to like molasses. I really, really do…all that iron, I could use it! I opened up my trusty Vegan Brunch cookbook and modified the gingerbread waffles recipe. I used half the molasses and half the brown sugar called for. I replaced the other part of the molasses the recipe called for with maple syrup and the other half of the sugar was replaced with flax meal. 3/4 c of sugar to 2 1/4 c flour doesn’t seem right for waffles. It just seems like a hell of a lot as a matter of fact. I also used powdered ginger, half whole wheat flour instead of using all purpose for them. And…I used lemon juice to curdle my milk before I started, I seem to have run out of apple cider vinegar. For the record, the waffles I veganized last weekend only had 3 T sugar and the same amount of flour.
image

These waffles are absolutely gigantic. I mean, look at that bad boy. As you can see a couple of pictures up, my waffle maker is pretty darn huge.

image

I had to do a hand comparison for yall. And yeah, I let my waffles cool on the toaster oven rack so they don’t get soggy. I improvise when I have to, my kitchen is tiny. These waffles were super delicious! I still want to find a way to further reduce the sugar. They only had 3 T of oil in them, but I don’t know if removing oil from a waffle recipe would work very well. I know these were amazing because I (outright) lied to my husband and told him they weren’t vegan and he inhaled them. Then I told him that they were and he just shrugged and said they were delicious.

image

blurry pic of some cabo shots.

image

My brother and his wife are just too cute together not to share a picture!

image

and last, but certainly not least, my bestest friend Sloane came in to Nashville last Thursday afternoon. She promptly fractured her foot on Saturday morning (before the Cabo, haha). It was her right foot, and when she goes home to Houston, she is supposed to be driving. She can’t exactly drive with a boot on her right leg! She decided recently to relocate to there from West Virginia. I hate that her foot is hurt, but I’m secretly excited that I’ll have more time to spend with her than I normally do. While she did live in Nashville for a very long time, she moved out of state three years ago and we only see each other twice a year. She happens to be relocating to where my father lives, so I think I’ll be seeing her more often than we were able to previously!

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

One response »

  1. So I MUST try that oat combo! I love the idea of coconut milk and peanut butter!! Yum! And I’m a HUGE fan of molasses and an even bigger fan of sorghum. So I gotta try those waffles soon. Your friend Sloane is adorable!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

