RSS Feed

Life can be fun…

Posted on

It’s not a secret that chickpeas are my favorite legume. This is going to sound weird, but they don’t taste ‘bean-y’ even when they come from a can. A LOT of other beans have an odd taste to them when they are canned. I know dried beans always taste better than canned, but I’m a girl on the go, living a fast paced life and I would rather keep cans of beans on hand than eat something unhealthy. I’m picky about chickpeas still, I like them roasted, made into hummus, in cutlet form or made into burgers. Roasted chickpeas are my favorite though. They’re just so…snackable. This is my favorite way to marinate them before baking. I mix together a small amount of oil with lots of homemade parma, low sodium tamari, lemon juice, and Frank’s hot sauce. Sometimes I add garlic powder too.
image

Tequila shots are fun. That’s Sloane’s smoking hand. oops :/
image

Vegetable Root Chips with a garlicky honey mustard style sauce. These were so good that they didn’t need the sauce. We ate about half of them before I got a picture. Kayla and I had these at bar 308; which is an seriously cool spot in East Nashville. The interior is really awesome and they have happy hour EVERY WEEK DAY from 5-8. So you should go in there and have some a drink, or three.
image

After my adventures with Kayla last night, Wes and I went to The Wild Cow around 8:30 last night…which is far too late for me to be having dinner…but I was at a work thing all day yesterday that didn’t include lunch, so I hadn’t eaten besides some of the above veggie chips. I had a buffalo tofu grinder with spicy kale on the side. mmmm.
image

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

5 responses »

  1. God, I love that buffalo tofu grinder. It has been far, far too long since I’ve been to Wild Cow (or Nashville at all!). The last time was in the city was Xmas Day, but I’m sure Wild Cow was closed then. I haven’t been to the restaurant since that potluck in Nashville last August….damn. Almost a year.

    Reply
  2. Those chips look awesome! I’ve never eaten chips with sauce though. Love the tequila shot picture – and your friend’s bad ass nails! They match the lime.

    Reply
    • You know, I think it might be a southern thing to eat dips with chips that aren’t tortilla chips. I can remember cousins of mine dipping potato chips in ketchup or some sort of sour cream based french onion dip. I’m not entirely sure though, why these super flavorful chips that had salt and fresh parsley on them, came with a dip.

      Reply
  3. ZOMG, chick peas are my favorite legume! They are soaking in my fridge right now, no lie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

