RSS Feed

Weekend finds…

Posted on

Friday morning, I went to Starbucks and they were out of all cups except for cold venti cups. That was fine by me, since it made justifying a gigantic iced black coffee that much easier. (I added unsweetened fortified soy milk at work.) Along with two slices of wheat bread and LOTS of Sabra Supremely Spicy hummus. Breakfast of champions! Not picture: thawed frozen mango and thawed sweet cherries.
image
Saturday, I decided to go visit my nieces and nephews. I try to go see them at least once a week, even though they live nearly an hour away. They are still all quite young and I want them to know who I am. On the way there, I listened to a CD of mashups by Wick It. He’s a local musician and if you haven’t heard his name…you will. This guy is doing huge things and he’s worked super hard to get where he’s at. I’m excited to see where he goes. Along with my tunes, I had one of the new naturally sweetened Vitamin Water zeros. This new line is stevia (!!!) sweetened and delicious so far.
image

My brother is a chef, and a serious foodie. Every time I go to his house, I try something new. It’s pretty rad. This time, I tried a Southern Pecan beer. This had a great flavor, but it’s not something I would buy. I can’t do dark heavy beers, it hurts my stomach. It’s an issue with too many hops I’ve determined.

image

Chili & Lime mixed nuts seem to be all the rage. I wanted to try them even though I DO NOT like Trader Joe’s cashews that are lime something or other. These were SO not what I expected. Addictively spicy, with lots of chilies you could see, and a lime flavor provided by kaffir lime leaves, these were AMAZING. Spicy though, so if you don’t like spicy foods, don’t even bother. These are not for the faint of heart!
image
Thank god I have mini bowls. These will only hold 1/2 cup of anything max, and then it’s stacked up high over the rim of the bowl. This is the kind of bowl I use for snacking on nuts and/or chocolate chips.
image
I went impulse shopping at the farmer’s market. I have a problem y’all. It’s bad. You only see three ears of corn here, but I can assure you, I purchased 12 for $5-and this was NOT GMO corn. I have no idea why I bought 12 ears. A quart of blackberries, two local peaches, two GIGANTIC white acorn squashes ($1 each!), and some popcorn from a local vendor. The left is birthday cake flavored, the middle is cinnamon sugar, and on the right is rainbow AKA the fruity pebbles of popcorn if you ask me. I know it’s July…but such cheap winter squashes weren’t something I could pass up…not when they were so huge…
image

So of course after this impulse shopping, I had a breakfast of about a third of the blackberries and a giant peach.
image
So pretty. I hate the heat of summer, but I’ll be sad when there aren’t cheap berries everywhere.
image
Look at that giant blackberry. Ignore the juice on my hand.
image

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

4 responses »

  1. That Blackberry is totally mind-blowing. Seriously.

    Reply
  2. That blackberry is huge! The peaches must be too to be almost the size of the acorn squashes. Craze.

    Reply
  3. BLACKBERRY!! Holy COW!
    And those peaches.
    And Corn.
    And nuts.
    and, and, and!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

