RSS Feed

Weekend/farmer’s market finds

Posted on

My love for ginger is getting out of control. It’s been going on for weeks, and I blame the Hungry, Hungry, Hippie. I went to pick up a bottle of white wine at the liquor store this weekend, and when I wandered over the the vodka section, I noticed that Absolute made one of their city named vodkas (Brooklyn) a permanent flavor called Orient Apple. It’s ginger-apple flavored. EEEE! Ginger spritzer, crystallized ginger, ginger-apple vodka and a splash of lemon juice make an amazing drink.
image
I couldn’t resist this giant local watermelon. Even though the seedless variety was cheaper, I had to go for the real thing. This baby was only $4 and I’ll be eating watermelon all week, so that’s $4 well spent. Random plug: East Nashville! We have a daily farmer’s market at 5 points now, close to Marche and across from Three Crow. They are there from 11-8 EVERY DAY.
image
I wanted to make kale chips this weekend. I had a giant bunch of purple kale, so at the East Nash farmer’s market, I picked up a purple/ivory bell pepper to make cheezey sauce for the kale chips. While I normally like the recipe I used, this was too…bell peppery for me and I’m probably going to throw away $7 worth of ingredients-not including the kale that ended up smelling super funky. so yeah. Wasted ingredients unless someone in East Nasty wants to come grab this.
Cashews, lemon, nutritional yeast, salt, sambal olek, and an heirloom bell pepper. I should’ve left the bell pepper out and added garlic!!
image
My husband loves okra, and it’s not in season for very long. It’s also quite expensive. Every downtown farmer’s market merchant was selling okra for $4/lb yesterday except for one. I paid $2.75/lb and hooked the hubby up. I’ll fry a little bit of this in just cornmeal for him, but the rest is going in jambalaya. I told you, I like spicy food when it’s hot!
image
I only spent $14 at the big Farmer’s Market yesterday. I cleaned up pretty nicely. I got the above okra, still dirty red potatoes, sweet potatoes, 4 peaches, 3 bulbs of garlic, a giant 1 lb cherokee purple tomato, 3/4 lb of purple hull peas, a vidalia onion, and two nice sized eggplants. I’ve been given so much zucchini this year that I haven’t bought very much. I’m actually quite sick of zucchini and I used to not understand people who said that…but I’ve reached that point. Now if I only had the same problem with basil…
image
And lastly, something my mom bought me the Smoky Mountains back in April, some good old southern grits from The Old Mill. These bad boys are getting cooked up with mimic cream and daiya pepperjack if I can find it. Tempeh bacon and Greens will likely be involved in this dish. I’ll share the recipe when I make this dish.
image

How was your weekend readers?

I also made some gingerbread waffles with walnuts and chocolate chips and topped them with a gingered almond butter/coconut cream sauce. I’ll share the glorious photographs of my new sauce as well as the details about how it came together tomorrow!

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

5 responses »

  1. I bought okra this weekend at the farmer’s market too! Most of our vendors were selling it $4/lb too…but I found one guy selling for $3/lb. Score! Also, that Orient Apple vodka is amazing! I like it with Sprite, but your mixture sounds better.

    Reply
  2. I love okra – and I love it spicy and stewed. But I’m most jealous of your fresh peas. I can’t find fresh peas at markets here!

    Reply
  3. That grits with bacon and greens and pepperjack daiya sounds like the most southern (vegan) food I could imagine.
    I love ginger too – and being that I live in Brooklyn, it’s only fitting I go buy that vodka!

    Reply
  4. Dang! I must find that vodka!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

