RSS Feed

Deets

Posted on

Yesterday I teased you about my waffle sauce. I’m all about finding syrup alternatives. Maple syrup is great, don’t get me wrong, but it’s realllllllly sweet, and I’m not a huge fan of a ton of sweetness first thing in the morning. Pure maple syrup is incredible expensive, so I kind of hoard it. Plus, waffles are already sweet, so more sugar isn’t necessary.
image
My waffle topping of choice currently is raw almond butter, coconut milk, molasses, ginger and cinnamon. Roughly: 1/4 c almond butter, 1 T molasses, 1 t cinnamon, 1 t ginger, 1/4 c coconut milk, whisked together. MMMM. I’m not a huge molasses fan, but I am trying to sneak it into my diet until I love the stuff.
image
I showed y’all the okra I got at the farmer’s market. In my opinion, one can never have enough okra. I think it’s an unsung vegetable hero and I wish more people liked it. I didn’t realize that okra is a vegetable that’s typically only eaten in the south though. I grew up eating okra every summer. My grandparents grew it-and tons of other vegetables. I didn’t have oil for frying last night, nor did I even want to fry anything, so I used Bianca’s recipe for Roasted Okra. It was AMAZING. I dipped mine in hot sauce. If you make this, don’t be freaked out when you hear the okra making noises in the oven. It happens, nothing’s wrong, it’s just roasting! Follow the directions exactly, you really don’t need more oil.
image
I couldn’t really figure out what to do for dinner. When in doubt, roast whatever you have on hand. That’s my motto.
I had Cremini mushrooms, Vidalia onions, Japanese eggplant, zucchini, whole garlic cloves, and carrots.
image
With cumin, paprika, garlic, truffle oil, and balsamic vinegar.
image
My full plate: roasted okra, roasted veggies, black beans and corn with taco seasoning.
image

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

3 responses »

  1. That’s a good-looking plate! I’ve never tried roasted okra. I feel like I might hate it because I hate fried okra, but maybe I should try it sometime.

    Reply
  2. cookingbooksisvegan

    Your waffle topping sounded delish! And your pictures of okra make me want okra; always hated the fried versions. ^^

    Reply
  3. Well my motto definitely does not include roasting anything in the summer, but whatever floats yr boat, haha. I’m actually curious to try okra..maybe soon.
    The waffle topping sounds great: I can’t eat too much sweet stuff either but I do love molasses.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

