RSS Feed

I eat…and I secretly love trashy things.

Posted on

My first breakfast, watermelon. This is about three cups of the delicious stuff.
image
About 45 minutes later, I ate something more substantial. This doesn’t look like much, but it’s amazing. I baked a sweet potato the other night for dinner, but it took way longer to cook than everything else. By the time it was done, I was already full, so I mashed it with coconut butter and raw honey. Then I added a tablespoon of chia seeds, 1 t ginger, a cup of oats, a quarter cup of coconut milk and a tablespoon of brown sugar. I’m calling this an unbaked oatmeal breakfast cookie. It was seriously substantial and I only ate about a third of it. I’m eating the rest today. Like I said, It doesn’t look pretty or appetizing, but this was delicious.
image
Planned leftovers from two nights ago. Lots of roasted veggies and a spicy black bean/corn combo. Mmmmm.
image
I bought a rat tail comb. I needed a comb for teasing my incredibly flat hair. This was the style of comb I needed; the packaging saying ‘rat tail comb’ was just a bonus.
image
Every time I go to Las Vegas, I somehow manage to not go by the Pawn Stars pawn shop. I have no idea why! My mom was in Vegas a couple of weeks ago (after the trip she and I took together), and she picked me up a shirt. Isn’t that color fantastic?
image

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

7 responses »

  1. Ooooh! Are you gonna do BIG Jersey girl hair?!!
    I like the rat-tail combs, but recently (about a month ago) I picked up a teasing brush (like this one: http://www.sallybeauty.com/Phillips-Teasing-Brush/SBS-896115,default,pd.html)
    and I lerrrrve it! You should give it a try if you don’t like the outcome of your rat tail comb. Also – I recommend dry shampoo for really good volume.
    I could go on and on about hair/beauty related stuff, but I’ll stop here. 😉

    That sweet unbaked cookie sounds amazing! I think I’m gonna steal that idea.

    ❤ you!

    Reply
    • oh.my.god. a teasing brush? I need that! My hair is naturally pretty oily and dry shampoo seems to make it look even flatter. When i have vacation time next, I’m thinking about not washing it for a week to see if that will help ‘reset’ it 🙂

      Reply
      • Do either of you No Poo? I do. I really like my hair, comes out awesome near every time as long as I don’t go crazy with the Baking Soda. I have a natural wave with some curls to my hair. Takes days before it gets oily post wash, but my ends are never dry.

      • YES! A teasing brush ftw! I love mine! I recommend giving your hair a few times of “not washing it” 3 to 4 days in between shampoos. It took my hair a good while (more than a couple months) to get used to all of the natural oils and I found that over time it kept getting better and better with not looking all gross and stringy/oily. Usually by day 4 I have to start wearing my hair up, but it does some pretty DAMN amazing up-dos from being so “dirty”. If you ever want vegan hair product recommendations let me know! I think I have thicker hair than your’s (it’s pretty wavy too), but I like to try all kinds of stuff on it – so long as it’s kind. 😉

  2. The unbaked cookie sounds great. Did you mash all the stuff into the sweet potato the night before and just let it all harden?

    Cool t-shirt. Hope you didn’t have to pawn anything while there.

    Reply
  3. I took the title of this to mean that you ate trashy things…I was like, what, the watermelon? Now I understand.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

