RSS Feed

Boring post is boring…but with pie.

Posted on

I didn’t do a lot of cooking this weekend. Instead, I did a bit of socializing and indulged in a LOT of laziness. On Friday night, I stayed home. I watched WWE Smackdown with my husband-yes, I’m a huge wrestling fan and I have been since I was really young. Also, the WWE has a vegan wrestler who happens to be really awesome-Daniel Brian (who’s real name is Brian Danielson-lolz). Anyways, I watch wrestling twice a week. Saturday night I did some socializing…blahblahblah. Sunday morning I got up super early and went to Trader Joe’s (then Turnip Truck) and while I was there, I restocked my bar stash.
image
I always buy Luna bars at Trader Joe’s. I’m so happy they carry the coconut flavor. I hadn’t tried this pure bar, but it caught my attention so I grabbed it. Trunip Truck had mini raw revolution bars for $0.59, so I couldn’t resist. The large ones are only $1.59 right now, and I liked the cashew/agave flavor, so I’ll probably grab more of them before the sale ends. The probar is one of my favorite probars. I also highly recommend “Art’s Blend.”

Pie. Vegan Buttermilk Pie.
image

I covered half of the top in cinnamon. I loosely used this recipefrom Voracious Eats, but I (obviously) changed a few things because that’s what I do. I should have written down what I did, but I wasn’t sure this would come out. I did add lemon and vanilla extracts, as well as silken tofu, black salt (TINY BIT, to add eggy flavor), turmeric (for color) coconut cream, and super fine sugar. It was delicious. In fact, I ate two pieces of pie for breakfast. I probably shouldn’t bake pies, I end up eating the whole thing or throwing them away so that I won’t eat the whole thing.
image

I miss the beach.
image

Oh, and locals! Today’s Living Social Coupon is for Olive Oil and Balsamic Vinegar from a local shop. Check it! https://livingsocial.com/deals/64921?ref=conf-jp&rpi=21934563

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

14 responses »

  1. That pie looks really good–as in, aesthetically. Some veganized pies don’t always look so great. And it’s healthy with the tofu, right? Fine for breakfast!

    Reply
  2. Glad to read there’s another wrasslin fan in this vegan blog community. Can’t imagine my Monday nights without. Have I really been watching wrestling for 30 years? Jeez, I’m getting old.

    Reply
  3. Haha! I love that you love wrestling! Or wrastlin’ as folks say around here….I think it’s funny, and I’ll watch if its on. But I really love MMA stuff. The UFC has a vegan too — Mac Danzig.

    Reply
    • UFC/Strikeforce all the WAY!! I’m a die-hard fan too, Bianca!
      Funny though, I always tease Mister AtV for the day he wrote a letter to Hulk Hogan, all because Tugboat told him to. *snicker*

      Reply
  4. PIIIIEEEEE. That thing looks and sounds amazing. So amazing, and I’m not even a huge pie fan. I would help you eat that.
    Love those Raw Rev bars…the green ones are my favorite but they’re all a little slimy – which is weird. The Pure bars are good and the Pro bars I have yet to try! They’re super expensive at WF.

    Reply
  5. cookingbooksisvegan

    The only pie I ever liked was an apple pie my sister made last year. Otherwise, bleh. It’s mostly the pastry of it being too much like a cracker, and the insides being too much of something…

    Luna Peppermint Sticks ROCK! ^^

    Reply
  6. That is a gorgeous pie! Great work! I sure hope you didn’t throw any away.

    Reply
  7. That pie looks DELISH!

    Reply
  8. Hey, Lacey, Love the first pie photo – cookbook quality! We are undisciplined dessert eaters around here. I’m not a very strict mom, so usually the pies and what not get eaten at every meal once they’re made. Also, you know from my wrestling cake that we’ve got some WWE fans in our home. I think CM Punk and John Morrison are either vegans or vegetarians, too.

    Reply
    • I think i have read before that John Morrison is a vegetarian, and CM punk as well…but they both rock leather 😦 I HATE John Morrison’s coats, but I adore his wrestling skills

      Reply
  9. Hi Lacey,
    Bianca suggested I contact you about a Vegan Cooking Class Weekend I am hosting Oct. 7-9 on The Farm in Summertown, TN.

    I look forward to hearing from you.

    Reply
    • Thank you so much for the information! I’m going to be out of town on business then. Is there somewhere that I can see what other cooking classes are available?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

