RSS Feed

Winter squash is back in my life

Posted on

I’m giving a book I gave up on a second chance. Shockingly, I’m finding it easier to get through than the first time. The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo series was highly recommended to me by several people. I was left with a bad taste in my mouth after reading more than half of the first book and still not understanding the obsession. I’m a big reader…I always have been, but this just wasn’t my taste. We’ll see if the second time is a charm. Also-Lemon LaraBars are amazing.
image
Look at this gigantic piece of fall. I’ve always been partial to white acorn squash. I feel like it’s not pretending to be butternut.
image
Someone at work gave me this box of Buckwheat Pancake mix. It’s vegan, but not gluten free. Free food is free food, so I had to give it a try. I veganized the box directions, but I used more milk than was called for, chia eggs, less oil and I added 4 T acorn squash puree…and um, ginger, cinnamon and coconut. So I guess I didn’t really follow the directions, but I kind of did.
image
The recipe said I’d get two large waffles. My waffle maker makes GIGANTIC waffles, so I figured I’d have one waffle and one mini waffle….but no, I got three. And they were all PERFECT. These might have cooked up better than any other waffle I’ve ever made before. These had virtually no sugar in them, so the waffles are quite savory, even with my additions. Next time, I will likely add a packet of Truvia to the mix for some sweetness without adding calories.
image

I’m looking at another weekend of living in broke city, which seems to be an all too regular occurrence here lately. I suspect I’ll be doing quite a bit of creative, cheap cooking. We shall see, we shall see. What are you weekend plans?

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

4 responses »

  1. Ginger in the buckwheat mix sounds really good. Those are indeed some monster waffles! Have a good weekend… I am starting to clean out my pantry and freezer, so I’m likely to be on track for cheap creative cooking too. I wonder if we have some of the same stuff, so I can follow your lead.

    Reply
    • Yay! I’ll be posting snippets all weekend of what I’m cooking. I should probably take a picture of the embarrassing amount of food i’ve hoarded 🙂

      Reply
  2. Sucks to be broke. You should check out these newfangled things called ‘Credit Cards’. Helps you pay for sh*t till you can afford to live your life.

    Reply
  3. Maybe you should run with the savory waffle idea, because they sound great with the buckwheat and acorn squash. Maybe topped with vegan cheese and sauteed zucchini?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

