RSS Feed

Recent loves

Posted on

This blog is becoming more and more like a Tumblr in that lately, I only post pictures of random things I like to eat. Whatever, that’s okay for now! This package of nuts caught my eye as I was checking out at my local health food store, The Turnip Truck (the original one, not the monstrosity in the gulch). The package said YumNuts. So I giggled. Then I saw ginger in the description and bought them on an impulse.
image
See the ingredients. These were just meh. They had a sort of thick coating on the outside and were far blander than I expected for something that should have been ginger flavored. They could have also really benefited from some salt. There’s NONE in them! A little bit would really have made these delicious. The more of these I ate, the more they grew on me…but I maintain that they needed more ginger.
image
I’ve always been an Ezekiel bread girl, but I have to eat it toasted, and even then, it’s a bit hard/dense for me. Enter, Alvarado Street Bakery SourDough. AMAZING. This is my new favorite bread! I wish they made burger buns. I’ll stick with ezekiel bread buns for now I suppose. This bread is light and fluffy and even gets soft if you don’t over toast it. This is a much thinner and less dense bread. Love it.
image
I have a kidney infection right now, so I’m drinking a lot of dandelion root tea, green juice and water-and avoiding alcohol and caffeine…but yesterday, I couldn’t help checking out the new beer selection at my local 4 stop market. I’m super excited that they are carrying Framboise-and that it’s cheaper than Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods sell it for. SWEET.
image
Pretty eggplant. I scored this for 75 cents. I sliced it up, salted then rinsed it, and brushed this with about 1 T of garlic olive oil, then roasted the slices. Sammich time. On some of that bread I talked about above…with hummus, herbs, arugula and maybe roasted tomato. MMM.
image
This is something I do not love.

I was under the impression that Hansen made NATURAL sodas. So when I bought this diet drink, I assumed it was stevia sweetened. It was not. It had splenda. GROSS CITY. I trashed this after opening it.
image

Does anyone have any additional tips for kidney cleasing/flushing besides dandelion root and lots of water? Kidney infections are NOT like UTIs/bladder infections. In case you’ve never had a kidney infection, it doesn’t hurt when you pee. It feels like your lower back is injured, you’re nauseous like you’re pregnant, you have a constant headache/fuzzy feeling, are unable to focus well, and feel generally unwell/down. Generally, antibiotics are the treatment-or hospitalization. I am trying to avoid antibiotics for now since they absolutely wreck my system and I’ve dealt with this type of issue for most of my life.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

10 responses »

  1. I have just always done the cranberry juice thing…

    And I’m gonna have to hate you for telling me about those ginger orange almonds because I bet they’re expensive and I KNOW that I will love them.

    Reply
    • this bag was only $5 🙂 not too terrible! Cranberry juice is harmful for kidney infections. UTI’s/bladder infections respond to cranberry but it makes the kidneys work too hard.

      Reply
  2. After a couple of days, if cranberry juice and water don’t make things better I head to the doctor. So sorry I couldn’t help you better there. 😦

    I also have a question about the eggplant. How much salt/sweating do you let it do because I tried it once and it was still SOOOO bitter, we couldn’t eat it. 😦

    Reply
    • I went ahead and got antibiotics, I’ve dealt with these infections for most of my life. Sigh. cranberry juice is harmful for a kidney infection, but great for a bladder infection or a uti 🙂
      For eggplant: I would peel them with a vegetable peeler, the skin is usually the bitter part. Then I lightly salt the eggplant and let it sit for 30 minutes, then rinse of the salt and the dirty water that came out of it. that helps kill the bitterness. If your eggplant is very green on the inside, I would just toss it. That means it’s not totally ripe.

      Reply
  3. Try mixing the Framboise with some Young’s Double Choc Stout! They serve that here at the Flying Saucer and call it a Raspberry Truffle. Soooooo good!

    Reply
  4. Ginger orange almonds sound amazing… sorry they were a disappointment. Maybe doing some home flavoring could be worked up?

    Sorry – I have no advice on the kidney infection. I hope you feel better soon and find a way to kick it!

    Reply
  5. Haha, I always just keep eating and the flavor seems to remedy itself…
    I had a lambic/blackberry/gin drink yesterday night and it was DAMN good. Hope you get over the infection soon; it sounds horrible. Then you can get back to yr gigantic coffees. 😉

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Bought Dandelion Root

  7. I’ve heard that a lower-protein diet helps with kidney issues. Just a thought, hope you’re telling better by now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

