RSS Feed

Long weekend

Posted on

I am one of those people who likes to really take advantage of a three day weekend by taking an additional day off and making it a four day weekend. I seriously do this every time a holiday falls on a Monday or a Friday. I have to use my time wisely, don’t ya know? The weekend seemed long while it was going on, but looking back, it was kind of a blur and I’m not sure where the time went or what I did.
image
I was in Atlanta last week from Monday-Wednesday. I posted a lot of my eats, but above is an amazing latte I had that was made with soymilk. It was unsweetened and I’ve taken a liking to unsweetened coffee.

image
The photo is a little blurry, but on Friday, I made peanut butter cups for a friend’s birthday. I didn’t have enough chocolate chips on hand, so I used white chocolate for the bottom of the cups, and dark chocolate for the tops. PB cups seem easy, and they are, but there’s a secret to them. My filling always consists of equal parts of pb and earth balance, crushed graham crackers, and powdered sugar. This helps the pb set and be more solid. I guess if you don’t use natural pb, you could leave out the sugar part! The graham crackers are the secret ingredient that take these to the next level, trust. I also brought along a bottle of Four Roses bourbon and some Miller High Life-best boilermaker EVER!

image
Above is the strangest, yet most refreshing thing I’ve ever had to drink. I’m addicted to these flavored and totally unsweetened waters. I need to buy some extracts and make my own.

image
This was the fruit tray at my mom’s Labor Day party. Balled sugar baby watermelon, cantaloupe, strawberries, raspberries (hidden), and three varieties of grapes. There was also some margarita flavored fruit dip, but it was dairy/egg white-tastic. You could easily veganize it by mixing rice mellow creme, follow your heart cream cheese, and margarita mix.
image
My mom made a signature cocktail that was spicy and kind of salty. It required a beer chaser. In the martini glass is a habanero-grapefruit margarita. They would have been better with more stevia to sweeten them and vanilla sugar on the rim instead of salt to balance out the saltiness/spiciness of the drink.

image
I’ve been addicted to the Mamma Chia drinks for a little while now, but they are over $3 each….and I just cannot justify the cost when I’m on a budget. I mixed together 2 T chia seeds with coconut water and let it set overnight. Next time I will reduce the amount of chia seeds (for budget purposes) and add a little something acidic to the mix, as well as some stevia. This combo was a winner though! I love the texture of soaked chia seeds + liquids.
image
I was given the above book to review. So far, I’m finding it uninspiring but I’m going to give it a go.

And last, Kitty love. Zeppelin is the best.
image

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

8 responses »

  1. That margarita dip sounds awesome!! I’m gonna have to try that. Anything with vegan cream cheese and ricemellow creme is fine by me. BTW, our Whole Foods had Ricemellow Creme marked down to 94 cents a tub last week. Unfortunately, they only had two left, but I yanked ’em up. I would have bought, like, 10 at that price.

    Reply
  2. Did it really work making your own Mamma Chia? It sounds like something I should try.

    Reply
    • It really worked! I tweeted you about this, but I think others might like to know. I put 2 T (next time I’ll use 4 t) of chia seeds in a glass jar, added 11 oz coconut water, shook it well, and let it sit overnight. I think using a lemonade or a limeade would be SUPER good as well. The only confusing thing is that mama chia is made of ‘hydrated chia seeds’ and I’m guessing this somehow takes out the fat?? I mean, Mamma Chia’s drinks only have 4 g of fat but 10 grams of fiber. 1 T chia seeds=4.5 grams of fat and (i think) 5 grams of fiber. I have no idea how you’d strain the chia seeds out of water, even with a juice strainer. I’m playing more, but it works-and well!

      Reply
  3. Pennsylvegan

    Josh and i were just talking about makin pb cups, soon, so i’ll have to take this as inspiration. Never tried that flavor of herbal water, but i liked the ones i have tried. The lavender is my favorite!

    Reply
  4. I sure hope no one cofuses my blog or recipes with that book.. the name is WAYY too similar for my comfort level.

    Reply
    • My first thought, when I heard about the book, was that it seemed like your concept. If you’d like, I can pass this one on to you when I’m done testing so you can see that it’s quite different from the way you cook. Will the premise is similar, I’m finding that your recipes are more inspiring.

      Reply
    • My first thought, when I heard about the book, was that it seemed like your concept. If you’d like, I can pass this one on to you when I’m done testing so you can see that it’s quite different from the way you cook. While the premise is similar, I’m finding that your recipes are more inspiring.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

