RSS Feed

Eat Vegan on $4 a Day

Posted on

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

I was sent this book from the publisher. I was really excited to receive this book because I’m guilty of spending far too much at the grocery store. While the recipes aren’t the most inspired I’ve ever seen, the book does take you back to neglected basics, and it reminds me how cheap being vegan can be. I am such a foodie that I rarely watch my budget and that’s never a good idea

I’ve book marked a few recipes and I’m going to post about them as I cook.

I made hearty potato soup with croutons I made out of leftover bread ends. The soup was delicious but not photogenic. Next I made the stir fry pictured above, adding rice vinegar, dried ginger and sambal olek to the mix, and finished with black sesame seeds as was suggested. Wes and I both inhaled this. I honestly haven’t made stir fry in over a year.

At the end is a giant oatmeal chocolate chip cookie that I got a couple weeks ago from the vegan restaurant down the street, The Wild Cow. It was dangerously delicious and seeing the picture makes me want to go see if they have them now. But….I just remembered a FiddleCakes Groupon. Oh yeah….

I hate the way stuff posts from my phone, but I’m being lazy and I wanted to share.

More to come!

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

3 responses »

  1. Oh man, that cookie looks amazing.

    I don’t get over to the Wild Cow as often as I’d like. I need to plan ahead and I don’t know what their specials are until it’s too late for me to get it together. I wish I knew in advance when they’re going to have the banh mi. Maybe I should just ask!

    Reply
  2. You’re so right about basics being neglected. The stir fry looks great and the potato soup sounds awesome. I hate the “veganism is elitist” argument.

    Reply
  3. Yay! I love this post, and I’m looking forward to reading your adventures with the cookbook!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

