RSS Feed

Weekender

Posted on

Friday’s lunch was typical. Three cups of raw spinach topped with my favorite dressing, an organic pear, a stevia sweetened vitamin water, organic baby carrots and (not pictured) pretzel crisps. I never measure the ingredients for the dressing, but it’s a combination of tahini, sambal olek, garlic granules, paprika, tons of nutritional yeast, low sodium tamari sauce, lemon juice, ground ginger and water. I attempted to make this over this weekend with minimal tahini and it just didn’t work out.
image

I met a friend at Drifter’s the other night to talk about life. This place has a great 2-4-1 night that includes all drinks on the menu. While it is a BBQ place technically, it’s ridiculously vegan friendly. Pictured below is a berry lemon drop made with Three Olives Vodka and my favorite beer, which happens to be local, a Yazoo Hefeweizen. It’s fruity but not overly so, it still tastes like beer, and it’s not super heavy or super hoppy.
image
I made almond butter cookies using five grain cereal, roasted almond butter, raw sugar, almond extract, ww flour, applesauce, almond milk and chia seeds. They were good, but too sweet for my taste and I think I added too much five grain cereal, because they didn’t hold together well. The flavor was there though, so I’ll experiment more. I have a great recipe for these that already works, but it has oil in it and I’m trying to avoid oil even if I’m not always avoiding foods that contain fat. I’m trying to limit my nut intake to only a couple of times a week.
image

I went looking for Shipwrecked Pumpkin beer on Saturday evening, which is my favorite. I guess only CostPlus/World Market carries it though. My neighborhood is amazing when it comes to finding a great selection high quality beer. I picked up this Pumpkin Saranac instead, because I’m not a fan of Blue Moon’s pumpkin harvest-which was the only other pumpkin beer I saw. While this wasn’t something I’d typically drink (more hoppy/dark than I prefer) it really grew on me and I didn’t have any of the negative side effects I usually experience with darker beers. I also found out that it’s unheard of to find this beer in the south! The four stop at 14th St and Woodland St carries it if anyone’s curious. They had 5-6 varieties of this brand.
image
I went to the farmer’s market with $20 yesterday morning. I knew that I might regret this, but I have to stick to a budget and not buy things because they’re pretty or interesting. I need to purchase things I have a plan for and things I will actually eat. I really made out like a bandit with this $2 heirloom melon (close in taste to cantaloupe). It weighed at least 9 lbs. I’m not kidding. It’s INSANE! and it’s realllly delicious.
image

This sugar baby watermelon also called my name when I noticed it was only $3. It is easily a 14 pounder and I plan on cutting into it once I’m done with the above melon, which was very ripe. I’m more than half way done though, so this baby’s getting cut open soon. Does anyone have suggestions for a tool I can use besides a melon baller to ball this up? These could be my last melons this summer, but I’m trying not to think about that. Surely I’ll have a couple more weeks of local melons…RIGHT?!
image

Mini heirloom melon snack. I refilled this bowl three times. It only holds 1/2 c. My husband looked at me like I was crazy for eating so much melon, but it’s mostly water and hey, at least it wasn’t blended with rum and coconut cream this time. That’s what got me into this situation I’m in now, where my clothes don’t fit! While I do post pictures of drinks on the blog, I’ve cut back drinking considerably and I can tell the difference already.
image
GIANT serving. Today’s breakfast. There are a few lonely pieces of pineapple in the bowl, I killed the pineapple from last week in a matter of days. It made my mouth Hurt So Good
image
I organized PART of my open pantry today. I figured I could show you guys shots of the mid-level shelf and part of the bottom shelf.
My husband only eats Jif PB. I’m trying to switch him over to simply jif which has way less sugar and no HFCS (I think the regular stuff does)
image
Pretzel crisps, grits, giant bag of dates, bars, not chick’n broth, bars galore, golden raisins, a variety of nut butters that don’t require refrigeration-cacao bliss, coconut butter, coconut oil, tahini, peanut butter, ohgave, honey, etc.
image
The part of the bottom shelf that doesn’t feature cans contains: vitamin waters (stevia sweetened), french whole grain mustard (THE BEST!!!), bbq sauce, buffalo sauce, cumin-chili chickpeas, bombay potatoes, almonds, walnuts, cashews, 9 lb bag of quinoa (hard to see), barley. There’s a lot hiding in the back. More to come if there’s any interest!
image

I hope you all had a lovely weekend ❤ ❤
I also wanted to direct everyone to this post You must be So Healthy!! because it’s really inspiring. I’m in a similar situation, where I want to be able to offer people guidance about being healthy, but I’m considered obese and it’s hard to take someone seriously when they clearly aren’t taking good care of themselves. While all folks who are considered obese are not unhealthy, I am. I’m carrying a lot of extra weight and it really affects my health and the way I feel about myself. I feel uncomfortable often and I don’t like it one bit. I’m not exercising and I’m not making healthy choices. I’m working on it and tomorrow may feature a few confessions as well as some personal background information on my life and my self-confidence struggles. I am hoping honesty is well received. I didn’t leave my house this weekend except to run errands, which is not like me. But I did a lot of thinking and it was good for me. I need to be focusing on myself more than I am. I am the only one living my life, and I don’t need to care so much about others. It’s something I feel compelled to do. I’m human just like you all.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

6 responses »

  1. I’d definitely be interested in the rest of the pantry..I love seeing things like that. Also, I’m pretty small but that doesn’t really mean too much. I feel gross and pathetic and depressed about my life/looks a lot lately. I think a lot of people do. What ever you want to own up to would be a nice breath of fresh air. I try not to talk about it too much because personally, I come out really whiny and a downer but it is nice to know there are other people feeling similarly out there.

    Reply
  2. Thanks for your comment! ..

    Reply
  3. I haven’t seen that pumpkin Sarnarac yet. But I’ll have to seek it out. I love the pumpkin beers. My boyfriend is a huge fan of Yazoo’s hefeweizen. I’m in love with the Yazoo Sue, their smoked porter. Sooooo good!

    Reply
  4. If you haven’t tried Post Road pumpkin ale or Schlafly’s Pumpkin, i’d recommend them both. Think Post Road is on draft at Mafiozo’s, at least it was last year.

    Reply
  5. I love it – pumpkin beer and melon in the same post! I feel like I’m straddling fall and summer, too.

    Good work cutting back on the alcohol … that’s a big thing for me too in being bigger than I want.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

