RSS Feed

Blogs I love…

Posted on

My five favorite non-veg cooking blogs-yes, I read non-vegan/vegetarian blogs πŸ™‚

1. Sprouted Kitchen
I adore the way Sarah writes. We have similar taste in vegetables and fruits, her husband is the amazing photographer for her blog, and when appropriate, Sarah makes suggestions for how to make something vegan instead of vegetarian. While this blog sometimes does feature animals as food, it mostly focuses on seasonal produce. With gorgeous pictures and interesting stories, this is easily one of my all time favorite blogs.

2. Can You stay for Dinner?
Andie writes beautifully. She’s also lost half of herself (literally-she lost 135 lbs and has maintained her weight loss for 5 years). Normally weight loss blogs are not appealing to me, but Andie focuses on enjoying what you like to eat, but practicing the self control not to over eat. Her photographs are gorgeous and her writing is witty and easy to relate to. I think you’ll enjoy her blog. But don’t judge it by the top post, normally there are not camera pictures on this blog! Read her story and prepare to be blown away. This girl has really changed her life and her health!

3. Not So Humble Pie
Mother Humble has nothing to apologize for and nothing to be humble about when it comes to creating desserts that will break hearts and make children and old folks alike smile. While I’ve never seen a vegan recipe on this site, the recipes are truly inspirational. The gorgeous photographs only add to the delicious sounding concoctions. I’ve veganized several recipes from this site and I’ve never been disappointed. If you need inspiration for desserts, this is where you should go.

4. Hungry, Hungry Hippie
I was hesitant to list this blog, as it is mostly vegan and vegetarian. But it isn’t completely and I just adore Elise’s story telling skills and reading about her travels, so I had to include it. I think I may have her on my blog roll now that I think about it…Anyways, if you love seeing pictures of other countries and reading about an nurse who loves to travel, you should definitely subscribe to Elise’s feed. If I make a vegan/veg list, she’ll probably be on it as a bonus πŸ™‚

5. Orangette I hope this doesn’t need a description…but go check it out, you can thank me later. Suffice it to say: gorgeous, entertaining, witty.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

One response »

  1. Thanks for these, Lacey. I really love roundup lists that do the legwork for me, haha, and you find great blogs. I totally trust yr taste on a lot of things like that! Speaking of which, you’ve mentioned recipes in the past that I’ve been interested in making and I decided that for MoFo this year I’m doing other bloggers’ recipes. If you have any recipe in particular that seems good or worth re-making could you send it my way? I would appreciate it. AND if it’s one I decide to make, I’ll send you something fun (if you want)! Anyway, nice list. Orangette is gorgeous.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

