RSS Feed

Vegan Mofo 2

Posted on

Yep, I still don’t have that cake up. I was in Chattanooga working until quite late yesterday, and by the time I got home, daylight was gone. So while I have some pics of the whole, unfrosted cake, I do not have any pieces of a slice that’s iced. Do you say icing or frosting? Is there a difference? I don’t know!
I want to point you all in the direction of a couple of my favorite local bloggers. Just four Tennesseans, one vegetarian, three vegan. You may or may not know about them all πŸ™‚
1. Lesley Eats and she takes pretty pictures too.
2.NashVeggie is a blogger who is quite on top of what’s vegan and what’s not around town. He also happens to have a vegan family!
3. If you don’t know about Bianca of Vegan Crunk, you might be living under a rock. She’s from Memphis, while the others I’ve listed are in Middle TN, but I have a special place in my heart for Bianca, so I’m pretending she’s super local like everyone else πŸ™‚
4. Lastly, another male blogger, which seems to be a rarity in general…ironically, I’ve found two vegan bloggers in my city who are males. YAY! The Vegan Man Cave just makes me smile-every single time.
Any other locals out there?

The best pumpkin beer ever.
image
Favorite Fall Beverage Combination
image
Prep for Watermelon Agua Fresca
image
My favorite meal at my neighborhood vegan restaurant, The Wild Cow. This is beans and greens, buffalo style. Herbed quinoa, spicy kale, smoky pinto beans, buffalo tofu, shredded carrots and vegan ranch. Three meals worth of food, seriously!
image

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

14 responses »

  1. Pumpkin Beer! How awesome!

    That plate of food looks great, must be really filling! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  2. Thanks for the shout out! Your blog is always a part of my daily reading. I’ll have to try the buffalo beans & greens at Wild Cow next time i’m there, it looks awesome.

    Reply
  3. Aw, I have a special place in my heart for you too, Lacey-face!! Thanks for the shout-out. I also love the Vegan Man Cave and NashVeggie. I’ll have to check out Lesley’s blog too. I consider Nashville local since I have family there. Next time I’m in town, I’m so getting that at the Wild Cow. I’ve had their buffalo sandwich, and that was awesome. But that looks even better!

    Reply
  4. I like to know folks in my hood too, just for reference. It’s fun. However, there are, like zero vegan dude bloggers anywhere!
    Shipyard is great; it used to be my favorite until I tried Southern Tier!

    Reply
  5. pumpkin beer! I haven’t had any in too long. (I know what it sounds like…)
    and yeah, we need more vegan male bloggers.

    Reply
  6. Thanks!

    Vegan dude bloggers do exist.

    Reply
  7. You are a quite persuasive writer. I can see this in your post. You’ve got a way of writing compelling info that sparks significantly interest.

    Reply
  8. Thanks again for the shout-out! Particularly since I’m so lacto-ovo-dependent. πŸ™‚ Though I’ve made some vegan stuff that I’m really proud of (note to self: time for scones again).

    Definitely glad to see some men out there writing about veganism. Have you read Herbivoracious? He’s vegetarian, but many of his dishes are vegan and they are amazing. A little ambitious for me, but lovely to read about.

    ps–thanks for the nice comments on the photos. Now, if only foodgawker and tastespotting would agree. pfft. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • I really love your blog in general. I actually read quite a few blogs that aren’t even vegetarian, much less vegan. It’s all for inspiration. If you need help making something vegan or having someone test out if vegan subs will work, I’m your girl !!

      Reply
  9. I like the sound of pumpkin beer and love the label!

    Reply
  10. Unfortunately, that beer isn’t vegan.
    I’m not trying to be “that way”…by the way.

    Reply
  11. Thanks for that list of new blogs to try! I really wish there were more vegan guys blogging so I’m happy to learn of some new ones to try.

    Reply
  12. Veggie Cookie (a Philly vegan blogger) has posted on Wild Cow as well. I know where to eat if I ever get to the Grand Ol Opry.

    Reply
  13. That plate of ranchy goodness is something I need in my life.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

