RSS Feed

Like a Mofo

Posted on

Alas, I am slacking on MoFo, but I’ll try to step up my game since I don’t have anymore work trips planned this month! I look forward to this weekend. I’ll be able to cook plenty of things so I have posts to share with you all. This one feels like a cop out.

Nashville has a bakery that caters to vegans and celiacs, as well as customers with no allergies at all. As far as I know, you couldn’t get vegan treats in Nashville before FiddleCakes opened up unless you went to Whole Foods. I could be wrong, but I don’t believe I’m giving incorrect information.
image
I adore FiddleCakes. Not only do they have vegan cookies and cupcakes, but they have vegenaise, vegan cheese, AND they carry not only soy milk for their coffee/tea drinks, but Almond milk as well. Take that Whole Foods and Starbucks! I love almond milk in cold coffee drinks. After vising with a client earlier this week, I used a groupon for FiddleCakes. Among my goodies were two chocolate chip pecan cookies that looked more like scones than cookies. Every time I get a cookie from FiddleCakes, it tastes so buttery that I just can’t believe it’s vegan!! (except that I don’t have a reaction to dairy, so I know they aren’t using butter)
image
Prep for last night. Vegetable wild rice and Happy Herbivore no chik’n broth powder. This broth powder kicks ass. I made a giant jar 2 months ago and I use it all the time. Wes did ask why the rice was bright yellow, and I just kind of ignored the question instead of telling him there was nutritional yeast in the broth. OOPS 😉
image
veggies galore.
image
mmmmmmmmmm.
image
My smoothie this morning. 4 oz baby spinach, 1 T cacao nibs, 1/2 c strawberries, 1 small frozen banana and 1 c Silk vanilla almond milk. I’m really torn about the ethics of purchasing Silk, but to be honest, it’s the ONLY non dairy milk besides coconut milk that I can drink straight, that lends smoothies the texture and taste I want, and that stands up to hot coffee.

image
End result is green and dreamy tasting. This is my new favorite smoothie-it’s official. I take all my smoothies to work in glass jars that I saved. I love to reuse things.
image
Tom Collins anyone? This makes me miss Holland House. I need to make it a priority to go there and to stop going to No 308. 308’s credit card processor posted multiple fraudulent charges against my bank account. I’ve tried to work with them directly, and at first, they were responsive, but after I sent a bank statement to show them the charges, they just stopped responding to my emails. That’s very uncool, I was a definite regular in there, but that just leaves a bad taste in my mouth honestly.
image
And who doesn’t love kitty love? My cats are so sweet to each other. Yeah…they’re posted up on freshly folded laundry. They always do that!!
image

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

5 responses »

  1. Fiddlecakes rules. Wish their cupcakes were bigger though. I gotta move closer to downtown someday so I can partake more often.

    Reply
  2. FiddleCakes sounds awesome! Even veg-friendly Madison doesn’t have such a vegan-accommodating bakery.

    Reply
  3. EXTREME HEALTH LOVER

    Hey there food lovers! 😀 I recommend healthy homemade soy milk!
    I found this website particular useful for making soy milk at home. It’s really not bad 🙂
    http://soyamilkmachine.net/

    k basically, it highlights some functions & recommendations of soy milk machines we can use at home …

    Hmm … what I like about the website is …
    – Feature videos on the functions of the machine, e.g multi-flavour (using many beans!), and multi-functional (making different products)
    – Features videos on how to operate the machine (instructions in English / Chinese)
    – Features numerous products for me to choose from!
    – Provided direct links to buy product

    I bought one from the website already, using it every day.

    Reply
  4. FiddleCakes is really filling a void around here and they’re so good that omnivores don’t even realize what they’re missing!

    Reply
  5. Credit card fraud needs to be reported to the Po Po. If they’re doing it to you, they’re doing it to others. Want me to report it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

