RSS Feed

You are a MoFo, eh?

Posted on

I’m trying to put MoFo in all my titles, but my creativity is already dwindling. Perhaps I need to plan out some funny titles in advance. HRMMMM.

Today’s post is about something I have a hard time with….breakfast. See, I’m one of those people who actually doesn’t have a hard time waking up early, but I do have a hard time actually making myself get out of bed. This leads to a lot of rushing around to get ready for work in the morning. I’m lucky I don’t have a job that makes me sweaty and smelly and that my hair can handle going a couple of days without being washed, because sometimes I hit snooze so many times that I hardly have time to brush my teeth, wash my face, get dressed, and feed my cats. Sometimes I even just use face wipes if I’m really running behind. This means I tend to skip breakfast or eat something I keep in the work fridge. This means that more often than I’d like to admit, I eat hummus and toast or hummus and pretzel chips for breakfast. And there’s nothing wrong with Supremely Spicy Sabra hummus for breakfast, but it’s not the most nutritionally sound way to start my day. When I’m not being a slacker, I have a few favorites.
image
Ah, green drank (spelled that way on purpose). I accidentally froze mine yesterday, and ate it like it was an Italian Ice. I love green drank. I don’t know why I don’t make one every day. My current favorite combo is one I discussed last week, spinach, strawberries, banana, vanilla almond milk, and raw cacao nibs. It almost feels like I’m cheating by getting such a sweet serving of greens, but there’s always 3-4 oz of spinach in my green drinks, so it counts!
image
I have a CostCo membership, thanks to my employer sharing the account with a few of us employees. Until a few months ago, I never really used it…because while CostCo has great deals, you always spend a ton of money in there. A ton of money isn’t something I usually have, but I’ve fallen in love with the produce department. I scored a pint of raspberries for $3.99 over the weekend. I wish I could eat these or some other berry for breakfast every single day. Additionally, I buy my spinach for my smoothies at there. You can get a 40 oz bag of ‘cooking’ spinach for $5…or a 16 oz clam shell of the organic, baby variety for $4, which is still far cheaper than the grocery store price. I tend to buy the cooking spinach for smoothies/cooking, and the baby spinach for salads. Other great CostCo finds include 4 lbs of quinoa for $8, 32 oz jar of Maranatha Almond Butter for $5, and 2 33 oz jars of organic salsa for $8. I always discover something new!
image
Over the weekend, I went to Big Lots as well. This is something I used to do regularly, but I hadn’t gone in months. I always buy so much food in there! This week, I walked in to a huge display of 15 different Bob’s Red Mill Products, all marked for $4 or less, with expiration dates more than a year out. I got the giant sized bag of 5 grain cereal for $2, GF pancake mix for $3, and big bag of rolled oats for $1. I also saw this gluten free cereal that I’ve been wanting to try. Since the large bag was only $3.50, I snagged two of them. Luckily, it was delicious. Not only as cereal, but in some pb-almond caramel bars I made-recipe tomorrow!
image
I’ve been talking about this ginger pear cake for more than a week. I never got a good picture, but the cake was AMAZING. I veganized and altered this recipe. I used earth balance+apple sauce in place of butter, pumpkin and flax eggs in place of the eggs, dried ginger instead of fresh-because it’s what I had, I used three bartlett pears and stirred them in the batter+sprinkled the chopped pieces on top, and I replaced half of the molasses with The Ginger People ginger syrup. This resulted in a delicious gingerbread cake that didn’t have too much molasses in it.
image
I made a buttercream icing with lots of cinnamon and ginger in it to top this bad boy. You should REALLY make this and not judge my not so awesome pictures.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

7 responses »

  1. The cake sounds amazing. I’m also totally jealous of your Costco and Big Lots buys! I wish they had those stores around here! There’s one BJs I know of but it’s kind of far and without a car I don’t feel like hauling 32 oz of Maranatha around although that is an incredible price!

    Reply
  2. I could pretty much work some Sabra hummus into all of my meals in a day.

    Reply
  3. Ha! As soon as I saw Ginger Cake and 1 comment, I knew exactly who that comment would be from.

    Reply
  4. OK – so what is not okay with eating hummus for breakfast? I don’t usually like breakfasty-foods and I usually feel plenty healthy eating leftover dinner in the morning. But I agree, a sweet drank is good too (but who wants to wash the blender before work?).

    You have me wanting to look into Costco. I have been with my mom but never considered a membership for a two-person household.

    Reply
    • I’ve been super dependent on flour products lately, and starting my day with bread sometimes means I eat it all day instead of eating fresh foods.

      The costco membership is $50/year, and I’d buy it for myself if I didn’t have work access. Check it out during a free day

      Reply
  5. Whoa – that cake sounds awesome!

    And I need to get myself to a Big Lots…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

