RSS Feed

Sunday is delicious.

Posted on

Since it’s the vegan month of food and it’s in October, I’ve made an effort to keep cooking daily, and to use what I have at home since I don’t have a lot of extra money for groceries.
So I’ll just jump right in!
I know I’ve been talking about Spabettie’s Noocho Cheese in a few posts previously. Just make it already! I ended up with 2/3rds of a batch of noocho cheese in my fridge for almost a week. I also had two giant bunches of organic kale. This meant cheezey kale chips…the only logical choice. I only used one bunch of kale because that alone took up two full baking sheets!

Kale chips are easy. Preheat the oven to 275ish, line two baking sheets with parchment paper, wash and de-stem your kale, massage noocho cheeze into kale, bake for 20 minutes, check on them, remove any done chips, bake for 10 more minutes, check again…keep this up until the chips are dried out but not brown/burned. Store in an airtight container.
Winter Squash Obsession.

I have found soup to be an easy way of getting in a lot of nutrients without a lot of effort. One pot, one cutting board, one knife. That’s all you dirty when you make soup. At least, that’s all I dirty. Black beans, corn, vidalia onions, cumin, chipotle peppers, ancho chilis, beer. Kale was added in the last 10 minutes of cooking this. I believe this was garnished with avocado and cilantro. Fresh, simple, delicious. I encourage those who are pressed for time to make a big pot of soup, eat it for dinner once, then use leftovers for lunches. I think I pureed this with more beans at the end of the pot and ate it like it was dip. Soup is just versatile.

My tempeh is swimming in red wine (Malbec, actually), Frank’s hot sauce, garlic oil, smoked paprika, ancho chilis, cumin, and a little bit of fresh lemon juice and zest. I hope it turns out delicious! It looks oily, but there’s only 1 T garlic oil to 1 and 1/2 cups of other liquids.

And if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go make some of this for breakfast.

Well, unless the husband wants pancakes.

Don’t forget, you can still enter my giveaway.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

7 responses »

  1. girl, I am so glad you are lovin’ on the Noocho! I have plans to make kale chips with it, glad to know they’re tasty!

    Happy Sunday!

    Reply
  2. Really nice pictures, I love the squash. And wine-marinated tempeh sounds so good!

    Reply
  3. I would like some of everything in this post, please. Kale and squash and tempeh? Yums.

    Reply
  4. I want to like kale chips, I really do! But I don’t.

    Reply
  5. Damn. I really want tempeh now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

