RSS Feed

Sweet, Sweet MoFo

Posted on

Today’s post is a quickie of some delicious sweet things I enjoyed over the weekend.

Beer counts.
image
Especially CHOCOLATE beer. This is a super dark beer for enjoying, not for catching a buzz. At least not in my world. It’s a bit heavy for all that, but it is delicious!
image
The only vegan restaurant in Nashville is about a 30 second walk from my house. No, I didn’t move there for that reason-haha. I was there first! Anyways, I follow The Wild Cow on twitter, and when they showed a big plate of donuts on Sunday morning, I knew it was my destiny to enjoy a local vegan donut. I figured this would be at breakfast time, but it turns out, it was my dinner. I’m so healthy on the weekend you guys!! This was pretty delicious, but a bit dry. The icing was almond flavored and out of this world when combined with the chocolate drizzle and the yeasty donut. I hope The Wild Cow continues to carry these on brunch days.
image
Since my donut was a measly $2 and I hadn’t spent money all weekend, I also go my husband a piece of cake, and myself this chocolate chip sandwich cookie.
image
I knew from past experience that this sandwich cookie wasn’t going to disappoint. I also knew that it would last for 3-4 desserts. Well, that has been my past experience. But I didn’t do a lot of eating yesterday, and I inhaled half of this. I think I met my sugar quota for the weekend.
image
But in case I didn’t, I made myself pumpkin chocolate oats for breakfast this morning. They have pumpkin, light coconut milk+water, pumpkin pie spice, and a bit of cocoa powder. They could probably use some ginger syrup or earth balance, but I don’t have any with me. (p.s. I know, oats are so ugly :/)
image
I hope your weekend was as sweet as mine 🙂

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

9 responses »

  1. I’ve been curious about Wild Cow’s donuts; have to get down there on a Sunday sometime and try them. The chocolate heaven cake is my favorite and the gluten free pumpkin cupcake I had there a few weeks ago was amazing.

    Reply
  2. Mmm, the oats sound delicious. I was seriously craving something sweet yesterday and dug out a half eaten pack of Panda licorice…so that was pretty nice 🙂

    Reply
  3. I so want that doughnut in my mouth! Looks so yummy, same with that cookie!

    -Sophia
    http://whatyourmommadidntknow.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  4. Damn, I NEED to get back to Nashville so I can eat a donut at Wild Cow!!! And I love, love, love Young’s Double Chocolate Stout. Our little Imagine Vegan Cafe here serves ’em for only $3 a bottle, which is the cheapest I’ve found around here. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Looks like a great weekend! I could definitely eat that chocolate sandwich cookie right now!

    Reply
  6. Baking is one of my favorite past times. I especially love to bake in the fall. There are so many yummy treats to bake that make your house smell sooo good 🙂 I am always looking for new things to try. Sometimes they turn out great and other times….well lets just say our dog loves treats 🙂

    Reply
  7. Thank you so much for this post, I’d just like to say that I LOVE CHOCOLATE. I have never tried chocolate beer, and it seems to weird to be good. Somethings are better left alone:) I am sure that at some point I will have to break down and try it though…So it is true…You really can get drunk on chocolate 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

