RSS Feed

I like to eat, eat, eat…

Posted on

Just a reminder…you have until Sunday, October 30th at midnight CST to enter my Herbal Water giveaway which includes a sampler pack of each flavor of Ayala Herbal Water.

I’ve noticed that when life is really busy, I don’t take the time to write very much in my blog. I should really make this a priority because it’s something I care about and honestly, life isn’t *that* busy; I’m just lazy sometimes. This post is pretty self explanatory πŸ™‚

Baked buffalo tofu. Not the greatest shot, but this stuff was amazing. And fattening, as true buffalo sauces tend to be nearly equal parts of butter (earth balance) and hot sauce. I’ll never, ever make this on top of the stove again. While the tofu didn’t appear to have absorbed any of the marinade when I was ready to bake it, it actually did; despite it’s deceptive whiteness. I also smeared the excess on the tofu slices before it was baked. NOM.
image
I got a 16 oz bag of coleslaw (shredded cabbage and carrots only) for $0.59 and I cooked it all at once with ginger, garlic, low sodium soy sauce and sambal. If you haven’t noticed a trend, these are my favorite seasonings lately.
image
I cannot repeat enough, ProBars are worth the cost because they are a true meal replacement. Whole Foods had them for $2.59 this week, so I grabbed on when I was sick. The berry one is pretty good. kokamoka and art’s original are still my favorites.
image
This morning’s breakfast: plain yogurt, pumpkin pie spice, honey flavored agave, macintosh apple and unsweetened pb. This was super good and not very sweet, which made it easier to eat in the AM.
image
This is my desk drawer. I keep it stocked with emergency lunches and snacks. I usually have some kind of crackers here too.
image
Lots of protein in that drawer now that I see it…2 kinds of chickpeas, marinated bean salad, black bean chili, peanut butter, larabars (there are actually four of them in the drawer), and a couple of kinds of tea. There’s also stevia under the tea, carrot sticks in the fridge and sprouted bread in the fridge here. Does anyone else do this? Note: I do NOT as a rule, purchase Jif PB for myself. However, it’s all my husband will eat, so I tried switching him over to the natural stuff that has less sugar. I was not successful, so I’m eating it. He just likes his sweetened I guess. 😦
Below is a typical lunch: quinoa, avocado and salt/pepper butternut squash puree. I topped this with the hot sauce I keep on my desk.
image
Drink of poor champions. Fireball and Miller High Life.
image
More berries from Costco. I know they aren’t in season but they are just so cheap I cannot resist them. I love berries.
image
And last…my current favorite LaraBar. This changes regularly, but right now, this one is my jam. It’s like a candy bar.
image

What are you loving lately? Any obsessions?

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

2 responses »

  1. I love buffalo tofu triangles! That used to be all I did with tofu for a while. Lately I’ve been into cornmeal for breading…maybe I will combine spicy tofu marinade and cornmeal breading for crispiness. I’ve been obsessed with okra lately, now that Super Target near me has been carrying frozen okra. I’ve been putting it into everything!

    Reply
  2. quaker oats has multigrain rice cake crisps…they are SO GREAT! i love how organized your desk drawer is…that’s exactly how mine would look! also, nice tea choices…i’d like to check those out sometime.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

