RSS Feed

MoFo Wind Down

Posted on

First up, the winner of my giveaway was Julia, who I know from LiveJournal. YES, IT STILL EXISTS AND I LOVE IT, SHUT UP!Julia, I’ve contacted you for your home address ❤
I did okay this MoFo. It's funny though, I've stepped up my blogging game in general and made it a priority to post at least three times a week in general, so I'm happy about that.
My old standby, green drank-overflowing.
image
Free Fiddlecakes. My husband used a Scout Mob app coupon to get me a free vegan brownie on Friday. Dark picture of the bag :/
image
And a flashed pic of the gigantic, delicious brownie. Every treat from FiddeCakes that I get astounds me; and this brownie was no exception. I’ve always gotten cookies there personally, so I’m glad my husband gave me some variety.
image
I saw these at the store and had to have them. No verdict yet, since they aren’t open but I’m expecting nothing less than deliciousness.
image
This, my friends, should be illegal. I made baked Mac ‘N Cheese. An exceptionally unhealthy, un-vegan tasting Mac N Cheese. I made a roux of equal parts earth balance and white flour, then added 4 times the liquid (cashew milk) of these two things combined, and cooked it until it thickened. Then I added 1/4 c pepperjack daiya, 1/4 c cheddar daiya, nutmeg, chipotle chili powder, 8 oz cooked elbow macaroni, salt and pepper. Then, I greased a baking dish, toasted 2 slices of whole wheat bread, chopped them to chunky bread crumb size, put those on top witha little MORE cheese, and baked for 45 minutes. This is how vegans are unhealthy. I’m telling you. This is truly a holiday dish.
image
Side view of said Mac N Cheese. You can see the creaminess. This was the day after it was baked, so it’s cold. I definitely used hot sauce on this because I can’t leave well enough alone.
image

Weekend stand-by. For when I’m broke. I love Miller High Life though, especially as a whiskey chaser. That makes me sound like an alcoholic, but I promise it’s good!
image
The most perfect homemade cinnamon roll ever. I used the Don’t Eat off The Sidewalk Recipe with a few changes. IT’S SO PRETTY!
image
My cat, Eva, sleeps with her tongue out when she’s really content. Look how cute she is. I adore her.
image
My current favorite LaraBar-probably the most unhealthy one, you know how I do.
image
And last, a tribute to my obsession/love of bars. Those HALO bars are seriously delicious. I’m particularly fond of the s’more flavor even though I typically do not like graham crackers at all. It’s delicious.
image

I hope everyone had a great MoFo experience. I personally will be reading blog entries probably for the rest of the year in an attempt to catch up. If you came across something during MoFo that was particularly inspiring or life changing, link me here.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

7 responses »

  1. Girrrrl, I’d like a slice of that baked mac & cheese, please! That sounds amazing! And that’s also my favorite Larabar … that’s also how I do. And I’m also a fan of the “champagne of beers” sometimes. I like mixing light-tasting domestics like MHL with tomato juice for Red Beer!!

    Reply
  2. The mac and cheese and cinnamon rolls look AWESOME! I totally went ahead and made some buffalo tofu over the weekend because you had me craving it from your recent endeavors. I’ll post about it in the coming weeks…

    Reply
  3. Blessedmama

    That mac and cheese is definitely holiday-worthy! I’ve never had a halo bar, but I’m definitely going to have to get one.

    Reply
  4. Hey Lacey-loo! Just saw your comment on seitan, and I use a homemade version from my cookbook. It’s the boiling method, and it’s very similar to the method from La Dolce Vegan. I’ve changed the ingredients up in my own recipe, but the method is the same.

    Reply
  5. Wow, is that a brownie or a BROWNIE? It is huge… decadent.

    Reply
  6. great looking food!! most especially the mac n cheese & the cinnamon roll (that roll literally looks perfect!). and your kitty is adorable. i’ve been missing mine lately–so cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

