RSS Feed

Oops, I disappeared for 10 days. I’m back, I’m back!

Posted on

I did a Cook.Vegan.Lover package swap early last month. My partner was so on the ball that I actually got my package in September I think. Why has it taken me so long to post?! I’ve had pictures forever! Anyways, I was partnered with The Rich Vegetarian. And was I ever in for an amazing package! Lakshmi (I hope I spelled that right girl, I actually know how to say it thanks to The Big Bang Theory, lol) sent a great package my way.
Upon opening my package, I was greeted with a huge array of products.
image
The first thing I noticed, was, obviously, the GORGEOUS scarf from India. This scarf is softer than the cashmere one my father-in-law brought me back from Japan years ago. Now my pictures aren’t the best, but I wanted you guys to see what I opened up. Included with this lovely scarf, were three home made IN INDIA (!!!) spice blends: kasorri methi (I admit to not having used this yet), chai tea masala (love!), and authentic garam masala that smells and tastes unlike any garam masala I’ve ever had. EVER. We don’t even have legit spices in the US…at least that’s what I’m starting to think based on the powerful flavors packed into both the chai tea and garam masalas.
image
Also, peach pepper jelly-this is going with cashew cheese done goat cheese style, and some freaking amazingly dark, tasty coffee. I’ve actually already used up all the coffee. It reminded me of our local roaster in Nashville’s roasts-Drew, of Drew’s Brews. If you live in ATL, I highly recommend going by Cool Beans and picking up the Michaelangelo blend.
image
If you’re jealous of my gorgeous scarf, you’re probably jealous of the beautiful wallet as well. It’s perfect for a small purse and holds just the right amount of stuff.
image
Also included in my package were fig preserves that I’m using to create a new cookie with, and some very Georgia Vidalia Onion relish that I’m formulating ideas for. All in all, this was a great package and I’m definitely looking forward to doing more package swaps in the furture.

YOU GUYS! My Whole Foods, in little old Nashville, TN carries Sophie’s vegan seafood. I am so excited to see these, even if I did not purchase any of the products yet, it’s nice to know they’re easily accessible. I can’t imagine buying the fried products though. Fried food grosses me out. Also, they had Tofurky feasts, and Tofurkey pizzas…but at $9 for quite a small pizza, there’s no way I can indulge in purchasing such a processed convenience food. I could make one myself for less 🙂
image
Some things never change. This will probably always be my favorite beer. I would be absolutely devastated if I left Nashville beer wise. No other Hef compares. This one is just very different from all the rest. If you ever come to Nashville, you have to try out Yazoo beer-whichever variety strikes your fancy of course. Served with a double shot of fireball on the side.
image
I’d never seen one of these before..I mean the flavor, not Luna Bars. This one was pretty great.
image
It even looks pretty. But the coconut chocolate one is the best.
image
Shot of some veggies before they were all stir fried: cremini mushrooms, yellow zucchini, sweet onion, garlic, ginger and lots of baby bok choy.
image
This one is actually as good as the Annie’s variety; so I won’t splurge on Annie’s anymore unless it’s on sale. I cannot say the same for any of the imposter Goddess dressings on the market though. Annie’s is just the best.
image
This is truly a meal sized salad. I used a serving platter for this: 4 cups of spinach, 2 T walnuts, 1/2 c short grain brown rice, and about 3/4 c chopped, baked seitan.
image
Seitan looks weird. This was immediately covered in Sesame and Shiitake vinagrette
image
It’s fall.

The ground looks like this:
image
And the sky looks like this:
image
And it’s anywhere from 75-35 degrees. I’m enjoying these mild temperatures since it’s about to get really miserable. Rainy, dreary season is on the way.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

4 responses »

  1. That scarf really does look beautiful. I’m also eying the fig preserves and peach-pepper jelly. Good call on that one with cashew cheese, mm.

    Reply
  2. Cool care package. Love Indian spices.
    Have you ever been to the Yazoo taproom in the Gulch? I still haven’t checked it out. I’m curious what the vibe’s like.

    Reply
    • I haven’t been because of the really limited hours. I’ve been by the Corsair Taproom in marathan village and it was painfully empty and quiet; i wouldn’t go back.

      Reply
  3. Thanks, Lacey! Your pictures are better than mine because I hardly took any… 🙂

    Glad you enjoyed the spices. They are perfect for these windy Fall days!

    Lakshmi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

