RSS Feed

Oatmeal Cookies with Figs, Ginger and Chocolate

Posted on

Unfortunately, I haven’t taken any pictures of these cookies. I still have a lot of them, so maybe I’ll come back with one, but I wanted to share this delicious recipe before I forget what I did.

Last night, I was having a serious sweet craving. Which has been happening far too often lately, now that I think about it. I’ve been eating really unhealthily, and that’s coming to an end quite soon. In the mean time, I will be making lots of treats for friends who aren’t vegan, and winning over omnivores during the holidays doesn’t involve being 100% healthy. I use healthy, whole ingredients when I can, but I’m still using nut butters and cold pressed oils that are safe for baking. I also do not like to “experiment” on people when it comes to holiday treats.

Anyways, last night I had a craving, and I’d had oatmeal cookies on my mind. I didn’t want to use an unhealthy “guest” cookbook, but I wasn’t thinking “fat-free” either, because I was hoping for something omni gift worthy. I opened up The Kind Diet, and looked under “cookies,” and lucky me, there was an Oatmeal Cookie with Plums and Walnuts. I decided to check out the recipe, and decided that if the base recipe was good, I’d play with it and use what I had. And so, using what I had, plus the added bonus of some Chai Tea Masala from Lakshmi of The Rich Vegetarian, these cookies were born!

Oatmeal Cookies with Fig, Ginger and Chocolate
Makes 20 cookies
1 c Rolled Oats (if using instant, use only 3/4 c flour)
3/4 c + 2 T Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
1/4 c brown sugar
2 t baking powder
1 t baking soda
1 t chai tea masala or equal amounts of cinnamon+ginger, and a pinch of allspice
1/4 t salt
1 t vanilla extract
1/2 c safflower, melted coconut, grapeseed or peanut oil
1/3 c maple syrup
1/4 c chopped dried figs
2 T diced crystallized ginger
2T chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350, line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a slipmat.

Mix first 7 ingredients together in a large bowl until well combined. (I know this seems like a lot of baking powder, but just trust me. If you don’t trust me, reduce it, but I cannot guarantee the results.) In a smaller bowl, whisk together vanilla, maple syrups and oil. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients, and stir until combined. Fold in figs, ginger and chocolate chips. Your batter will be slightly wet, but it shouldn’t be super sticky. Using a tablespoon measuring spoon, scoop tablespoons of dough onto cookie sheet and flatten very slighty. You should be able to fit all 20 tablespoons of dough onto the cookie sheet. Bake for 10-11 minutes. Cookies will be soft out of the oven, and will fall apart, so let them cool for a few minutes so they stay together. Enjoy!
You can still enter my giveaway until December 21st. Go leave a comment 🙂

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

6 responses »

  1. These sound so great! I’ve heard good things about the original Kind Diet cookies, so I can imagine these being even better. I love figs, ginger, and chocolate separately but haven’t combined them all. Mmm..

    Reply
  2. Wow, what a delicious bunch of ingredients… Plus chai tea masala! Nice, Lacey… 🙂 Happy Holidays!

    Reply
  3. I wonder how these would be with dates? Hmmmm.

    Reply
  4. Ooh, I’m making oatmeal cookies today. I think I’ll set aside some dough for this combo!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

