RSS Feed

Healthy Surprise-and a giveaway!

Posted on

Have you guys heard about the amazing service that Healthy Surprise is offering? Don’t worry if you haven’t, I’m pretty sure it’s new. I’d never heard of it myself until a couple of weeks ago when an awesome person named Joe that works there (I think he owns it actually) reached out to me because he saw a post I wrote about Lollihop. I did like the idea of Lollihop, but not the end result. I wasn’t pleased with the cost for what I got, and I wasn’t happy about having ordered a vegan box that had dairy and honey as ingredients in a few items.

If you’ll just look over here at their options you’ll see this is a different sort thing that HS is doing. Healthy Surprise does cost a little more, but as you’ll see below, it’s well worth the $33/month for the smallest option. This is not just a box of small samples or a few treats to try out. This is a seriously full box of, well, Healthy Surprises!!


I received my box three days ago. I wanted to blog about this sooner, but I also wanted to try out some of the incredible things included in the box that I’d never had. (Side note, don’t judge my pictures, I can’t find my battery charger for my camera’s batteries right now…)

I mean, look how much stuff is in there! The first thing I just had to try were the Tarragon Dijon Kale chips. You’ll notice in my pictures that you only see one bag, but that’s because I at the other bag before I took pictures. YEP, THERE WERE TWO BAGS OF KALE CHIPS!! (they were freaking amazing in case you wondered!)

The thing about Healthy Surprise is that they don’t just have a one size fits all service. There are a LOT of options. If you’re part of a family of healthy eaters, you have a choice of several different sizes of boxes.

I know this is a lot of pictures, but I want you to understand just how much stuff was in this box. Look at all these bars!!

The raw gingersnaps that came in this box were so amazing. They weren’t too sweet, and they didn’t taste like strange raw food sometimes can. I’ve had really varied experiences with raw treats, sometimes they are just plain bad, but these cookies are something I’ll be buying (online I’m sure) in the very near future. You can read the ingredients on the front I believe.

Let’s run down the list of what I got really quickly:
2 bags of freeze dried apple chips, 2 bags of freeze dried pineapples, 2 bags of dark chocolate covered espresso beans, a bag of mango chipotle almonds, 2 bags of tarragon dijon kale chips, a bag of raw gingersnaps, 2 bobo’s oat bars in maple pecan (love these things!), 2 packages of black sesame seed strips, 2 packages of white sesame seed strips, a chocolate&coconut raw revolution bar, a spirulina cashew raw revolution bar (being donated, I really am not a fan of these), an apple cinnamon raw revolution bar, a live pumpkin bar, and a live granola bar.

I hope you all loved seeing the awesome stuff Healthy Surprise is doing. I really believe in this service, and I hope you do too! To show you just how great this is, the awesome team at Healthy Surprise is going to let me do a giveaway to one of my lucky readers. If I’m mistaken about this offer, I’ll personally pay to send you a box to try out because this service is the jam!!

Four ways to enter:
1. Comment and tell me what you think about Healthy Surprise.
2. Follow me and Healthy Surprise on twitter, and let me know you’ve done so by leaving a comment about following us.
3. Tweet about this giveaway and let me know you’ve done so by commenting.
4. Link back to this giveaway on your own blog, and let me know you’ve done so.

This contest is open until Friday, March 23rd at noon central. This contest is only open to US residents. (sorry international readers!!)

P.S. On a personal note, I have been really neglecting this blog for the past 6 weeks. Wes and I moved, and due to his work schedule, he wasn’t able to help very much, so it’s been a long process. On the upside, my new house is amazing and the kitchen has multiple windows and lets in a lot of natural light. I look forward to cooking my heart out in the near future and sharing with you what I’ve done.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

109 responses »

  1. This looks like such a fun box of healthy surprises! That’s good mail! I recently got hooked on the Kale Krunch. The Tarragon Dijon flavor is one of the best, but the cheesy chipotle is my favorite.

    Reply
  2. I follow you on Twitter.

    Reply
  3. This looks awesome – how fun to open up the box and discover what awaits! I was so disappointed when you did the Lollihop one – as soon as I saw the pic with the Ranch flavoured chips, my heart sank. It really bummed me out that the vegan
    box was, well, not. I mean, if you are going to specifically advertise it as such…yeah,
    very disappointing. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Reply
  4. That box looks amazing! I never tried Lollihop, but after reading this I’m glad I didn’t. Even if I don’t win I will definitely be checking out the service!

    Reply
  5. I follow you on Twitter!

    Reply
  6. That maple pecan bar, the dark chocolate espresso beans, and those KALE CHIPS! Oh my!

    I follow you on Twitter and on here โค

    Reply
  7. holy mother effing shiz…this is my dream giveaway i think ๐Ÿ™‚ those kale chips!! i love them but they cost my whole paycheck! and the go raw treats! oh my goodness, youre making me drool.

    Reply
  8. ps just wanted to say i hope the move went well and im SOOO excited for you to have a bright kitchen w windows galore. so fun having a house you love!!

    Reply
  9. I already follow you on Twitter.

    Reply
  10. Just tweeted about the giveaway!

    Reply
  11. mcsassypants

    Hey, this looks tasty!

    Reply
  12. It looks awesome and Yumm-o!!! Too bad I don’t tweet(or have an account) and still haven’t figured out the whole blog about my thought thing either!!! But it sure looks good!!!

    Reply
  13. That box looks awesome. I get in such a snack rut and this would help to change it up.

    Reply
  14. I already follow you on Twitter and I just started following HS.

    Reply
  15. I follow you both on Twitter! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  16. That box looks AMAZING! Chock full of delicious goodies! Great giveaway! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  17. OMG! That is one amazing box!! For $33! I’m pretty sure all of that would have cost way more at Whole Foods. Healthy Surprise sounds awesome!

    Reply
    • Yep – these are all premium expensive foods. Atleast with Healthy Surprise, we taste them so you know they’re good. That’s the problem with expensive healthy snacks is that some taste bad … and it sucks to spend $6 on something that’s no good!

      Reply
  18. Already following you on Twitter. And now I’m following Healthy Surprise.

    Reply
  19. I’d love to win this- it would make an awesome gift for someone.

    Reply
  20. I followed you and healthy surprise on twitter!

    Reply
  21. I tweeted about the giveaway!

    Reply
  22. Ha, I meant to enter yesterday, but I clicked the link over to Healthy Surprise and got sidetracked! It all looks really wonderful. Wish I had a few healthy surprises right now!

    Reply
  23. I follow you both on Twitter @lesleyeats.

    Reply
  24. I had no idea something like this existed! Not only is it great for health reasons, but it’s a good way to introduce people to new products. I didn’t know half of these goodies existed!

    Reply
  25. healthy surprise looks awesome! I was just about to try lollihop but now I am thinking twice!

    Reply
  26. This looks like a great box, I love to try new healthy and gluten free snacks

    Reply
  27. I tweeted onflgator
    ufg8trj@yahoo.com

    Reply
  28. I’ve just discovered all the awesome monthly subscriptions they have these days, which led me to lollihop which led me to you, I was sad to find out that lollihop closed before I had the chance to try it but then I saw in your comments about healthy surprise, so excited to look into trying it, hopefully I can work it into my budget!

    Reply
  29. Haven’t tried Healthy Surprise yet, but I got my eyes on those Kale chips. Everything looks great!

    Reply
  30. I love that this box is vegan and gluten-free โค

    Reply
  31. I follow both you and Healthy Surprise on Twitter (I’m @Rawdorable)

    Reply
  32. Wow, what an awesome idea…and a great way to try new products!

    Reply
  33. I follow you and Healthy suprises on twitter!

    Reply
  34. I love that Healthy Surprise provides an easy way to try new, healthy foods!

    Reply
  35. I follow Healthy Surprise on twittter

    Reply
  36. Kristin Gideon

    I think Healthy Surprise looks amazing, based on your review! I’ve actually tried one box from them, but haven’t been able to afford more. Would love to give them another try!!

    Reply
  37. Kristin Gideon

    I’m following both you and Healthy Surprise on twitter! (@smurfy29)

    Reply
  38. Kristin Gideon

    I tweeted about the giveaway! (@smurfy29)

    Reply
  39. I agree on your take on some “healthy” food products. They taste a little off… weird, yes.

    This sounds like one delicious goodie box…Sesame seed strips! Gingersnaps! Mango Chipotle Almonds! Maple Pecan Oat Bars! Yum Yum Yum.

    Follow you on Twitter but you know that already…

    Reply
  40. Jessica Caneal

    This box of vegan deliciousness looks absolutely AWESOME! I โค Healthy Surprise already ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  41. Jessica Caneal

    I follow both you an Healthy Surprise on Twitter! @jesscaneal

    Reply
  42. I hope I win this! What a great idea!

    Reply
  43. Healthy Surprise is a great concept of trying new brands I’ve never heard of! Thanks for the giveaway!

    Reply
  44. I follow you on Twitter

    Reply
  45. I follow Healthy Surprise on Twitter

    Reply
  46. Tweeted the giveaway link

    Reply
  47. I love new healthy vegan foods to sample out! This is fabulous and I would love to try all the surprises in Healthy Surprise – thanks so much!

    Reply
  48. I follow you on twitter

    Reply
  49. I also follow Healthy Surprise now on Twitter

    Reply
  50. When I go grocery shopping I always try to pick up one new healthy product to try – so this idea is wonderful in trying a whole new box each month! My family will love all the goodies! Thanks so much!

    Reply
  51. Follow you on Twitter

    Reply
  52. Follow Healthy Surprise on Twitter

    Reply
  53. Just Tweeted – thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  54. I absolutely love this idea. As a new vegan that’s heading off to college soon, I’ve been rather worried about the convenience factor of proper nutrition. Unfortunately the dining service at my school offers little to no vegan options. I think this would be a great care package!
    Followed you and Healthy Surprise on Twitter!

    Reply
  55. Pingback: Pretty Things « Lacey Loves Food

  56. love that it’s gluten-free! and healthy!

    Reply
  57. follow you both on twitter @cherrycobbler

    Reply
  58. I love the idea of it to arrange for kids going off to college or as a wedding or housewarming gift, although it would be nice to see some instant meal kind of things in it, not just the supercool snacky things…all of which I am craving now!
    Congrats on the new house…cheers!

    Reply
  59. Out of all the different snack companies popping up, healthy surprise definitely looks like it would be my favorite. That is a ton of stuff for such a small amount! I could never buy all of those treats for the price that I would be receiving them for by healthy surprise. I also like that everything is vegan, so no wasted money. And such a cool way to try out new things that I may not have even thought to try or may not have even known existed.

    Reply
  60. I followed both you and healthy surprise on twitter.

    Reply
  61. What a wonderful idea – a delivery full of healthy surprises each month! Thanks for the neat review as it looks like a great company program!

    Reply
  62. That looks delicious and I’ll definitely be checking out Healthy Surprises! I made my own Kale Chips recently by rubbing the leaves lightly with oil and baking for 30-35 minutes at 250. They were incredibly addicting.

    Reply
  63. Rachel Hall

    Those Mango Chipolte Almonds are amazing! I really want to try the Kale Krunch.

    Reply
  64. i think this whole thing sounds great!

    Reply
  65. I think Healthy Surprise is an AWESOME concept!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  66. I just signed up with HS and I can’t wait to get my first box! Thank you for all the pictures I got the small box to start off and wow what a variety! Can’t wait to try new things and bring them to work for a healthy snack!

    Reply
  67. This service looks perfect for our family. Thanks for showing what’s really in a box.

    Reply
  68. Wow, this looks great! I will have to check into this program. What fun it would be to get a surprise box in the mail.

    Reply
  69. I was already following you on Twitter, and have added Healthy Surprise!

    Reply
  70. Mary Kate B.

    Healthy Surprise seems great! It seems like the ideal vegan monthly box, everything in their box is amazing!

    Reply
  71. Mary Kate B.

    I just followed you and Healthy Surprise on twitter!

    Reply
  72. Mary Kate B.

    I just tweeted about the giveaway!

    Reply
  73. WOW! that box looks amazing! I just recently got into eating Kale and love it, not to mention all the other great stuff there. I am certainly going to look into the monthly boxes, but a free box to start off with sure would be awesome!

    Reply
  74. followed, following, and tweeted !

    Reply
  75. I WANT THAT YUMMY BOX!!!

    Reply
  76. Sorry I missed the deadline. I really wouldve liked to win this to give it a try as I am trying to change my eating habits and live a healthier lifestyle. Congrats to the winner!

    Reply
  77. Also sounds like an awesome service! I’m gonna tweet about it anyway!

    Reply
  78. I love healthy surprise but im thinking of skipping some months because of the price and that is why i would like to win this to replace the month i skip:)

    Reply
  79. I just followed you and healthy surprise on twitter my username is @solracaletse

    Reply
  80. what i love about healthy surprise is that they give you a lot of great snacks to try that i have never heard or tasted before

    Reply
  81. I haven’t read a single negative review of Healthy Surprise, so I guess mine is going to be the first one… I ordered the starter box ($33) and was disappointed to see how few things were in it. Just a bottle of fruit juice, 4 medium-sized bags of snacks, a couple tiny lara bars, a tiny bag of cookies, and a fruit bar. Definitely not the plethora of snacks other people on here have been talking about!

    Reply
  82. I love the idea of healthy surprise! I’m always looking for good healthy foods and this is a great way to try a lot of different good-for-you foods and get to know what you like and don’t! I really want to try this and hope I win the box! Totally going to tell all my blog followers about this service! They will love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

