RSS Feed

Beachy Florida Post is…Alcoholic

Posted on

I kicked off my trip to Tampa properly by hollering at a liquor store to pick up two favorite liquors that most folks aren’t fond of. I’ve noticed that a lot of people cringe when I suggest tequila shots. Don’t get me wrong, I was once one of those people.

before i drank good, blanco tequila that is. and let me teach you a trick, don’t shoot tequila with limes and salt. That’s just not ideal if you ask me, you really want to shoot tequila with oranges and cinnamon. lick the cinnamon, slam your ice cold shot, and bite the orange, BOOM, no tequila burn. You know, if you’re drinking good tequila. While I know good tequila isn’t cheap, I’m of the mind that I’d rather drink less high quality alcohol than more crappy quality alcohol. I prefer Milagro blanco, cabo blanco, or 1800 when I’m drinking tequila. I do NOT like patron for shooting, it’s not good.

And yes, I got some frooty loops vodka. That stuff is the jam, and I don’t even like girly drinks. Shoot it and you won’t think you’re shooting vodka, make a drink with equal parts almond milk and frooty loops vodka and it’s a shot that tastes like a bowl of kids cereal.


ahh, the beach. I do not recommend drinking liquor on the beach. The beach is reserved for beer and sangria.

After a day at the beach, play with dogs. Like Ellis. Or Phaeton.

And then, shower and discover you’re absolutely fried, despite using number 70 sunscreen.

When you go somewhere tropical, you have to drink frozen drinks. I think it’s like, a rule.

You also tend to notice how plants are far larger than they are at home. Look at these elephant ears! I’ve never seen anything like it!

And after the beach, you go home, and you detox.

You eat clean, and you stop drinking beer. You stop eating sugar. You eat quinoa bowls with edamame, corn and mushrooms for lunch. You give up oil, and you feel better.

You make yourself an oil free, sugar free treat that actually is delicious. Like these banana oat bars.

…and then you discover low fat homemade coconut cream in your freezer. stuff you made for pina coladas on memorial day that you never made. And you realize you don’t know what to do with this stuff and you put it back in the freezer.

and when you come home, you have to go see your favorite bartender. the one you see a few times a week, because he’s just that awesome. and you order a double shot of bulliet and end up wasted in a hour. because coming home is always pleasant when you have friends.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

One response »

  1. Fun! I love that Loopy vodka, and I don’t typically like girly drinks either (but I will gratefully down some fruity tropical shit on the beach). Good tips on the tequila. I’ll have to try that…although I must say that I am a fan of the salt and lime.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

