RSS Feed

Chili Spiced Seitan Recipe

Posted on

I’ve experimented with seitan several times, but never consistently. I keep telling myself I must be doing something wrong to end up with such lackluster seitan. I mean, I LOVE wheat…so you’d think seitan would be my thing. But it’s just not. I want to like it though, so I’m experimenting. Seitan has a lot of protein and not very many carbohydrates and very little fat. I’m also using myfitnesspal.com to track my calorie consumption because I’m trying to be a healthier person. I love that I can create recipes and then plug them in to see what I’m eating. That’s the only tough part about eating clean-no labels to really tell you what kind of nutritional value you’re taking in! I like knowing what I’m taking in…it keeps me in check. I created a seitan recipe this weekend that’s ‘log’ seitan if you will. It’s baked and sliceable–I even cut some up lunch meat style. My approach this time was to use way more spices than any recipe I’ve seen. I wanted seitan that was flavorful without needing anything to be added to it. I wanted seitan that non-vegans might actually eat and not say ‘this is weird.’

Recipe:
Preheat the oven to 325 and get out a baking sheet and some foil.

Mix your dry ingredients:
2 1/2 c vital wheat gluten
1/2 c nutritional yeast
1 T paprika
1 T granulated garlic (better than fresh in this recipe)
1 T onion powder
1 T ancho chili powder

In a blender combine:
1/2 c cooked lentils
1 T Sambal Oelek (I don’t even buy sriracha anymore!!)
2 T Bragg’s Amino Acids
2 T low sodium Tamari
1.5 T Genmai (brown rice and soy) miso
1 3/4 c water
Blend until the lentils are pureed. Add your liquid ingredients to your dry ingredients and stir with a bamboo or wooden spoon until combined. Turn sticky mixture out onto a large piece of foil and form a log shape. Bake for 90 minutes, flipping the seitan log over once half way through. Unwrap log and allow to cool on a wire rack. This keeps the outside of your seitan from getting soft via condensation that forms within the foil while your seitan cools. This is okay to store in the fridge for a week or you may separate out individual portions and freeze them. A couple of notes:
fee free to swap out spices, but use the same amounts for maximum flavor. the same goes for beans and even the miso; you could make this italian style by swapping spices and using white beans-you could even swap the braggs and miso out for wine. Just keep the dry and wet ingredient amounts the way they are. Let me know if you come up with something great!
Makes 10 servings Nutritional information below:
159 Calories
12 Carbohydrates
1 gram of fat
27 grams of protein

This entire recipe:
1587 calories
115 carbohydrates
10 grams of fat
274 grams of protein (!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

p.s. seitan ain’t pretty y’all, no pictures, but I’ll post some photographs of my lunch today which is quinoa, seitan, raw broccoli and fat free homemade green goddess dressing.
In case you haven’t noticed…I am on a huge high protein, eat clean, no sugar, very little oil kick. I have been trying to kick my ass into gear and get healthy for quite a while now, and I lose motivation quickly. Oddly enough, having less spending money and the adoption of a stray dog my husband found has pushed me to be more driven about fitness and eating healthier. I turn 30 this year, and I want to get on track before my metabolism really starts to slow down. I’m still young and I can still take control. Do you guys want to see my new dog? OF COURSE YOU DO! Those that follow me on instagram have already seen my sweet boy.

That’s not the best picture, but there will be many more to come.
Wes and I moved into a house with a fenced in back yard about 7 months ago, and I’ve been begging him to let us adopt a dog since we have a play area outside. He kept saying no and giving very valid reasons, so I let go of the idea. Then he called last week saying a stray had been hanging out around his work for a month or so, and that it had almost gotten hit, so he was bringing him home. He’s about 4 and extremely well behaved. No barking, no jumping, no messing with the cats, no using the bathroom inside (we already had a doggy door installed-what luck!). This dog is wonderful. We haven’t named him yet, but we’re definitely in love! This is the second animal we’ve taken in over the course of the last two weeks. It really makes me mad that people abandon their animals (like literally..come drop them off) in my neighborhood because we have a reputation for being animal lovers and we have a few groups that rescue animals. Ugh. We took in a sweet kitten about 2 weeks ago that didn’t make it…he was only 8 weeks old and in shock from a dislocated leg. Heart breaking. I have a feeling Wes and I will soon be involved with East CAN to start fostering animals until they can have homes because it’s just unbearable seeing so many obviously (once) well taken care of animals being deserted.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

One response »

  1. Awww what a cute dog! 🙂

    I used to feel the same towards seitan. It can be very tricky to master. Sometimes it comes out too tough. Other times it’s not firm enough. Practice makes perfect though. So far I’d have to say the best seitan I’ve ever had is a recipe from Vegan Diner (the pastrami style seitan). When sliced thin it makes for an awesome sandwich! However, I tend to cook more tempeh than anything. Much easier for me to deal with lol.

    Your recipe sounds great though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

